I Am My Brother's Keeper [Bonus Tracks]

I Am My Brother's Keeper [Bonus Tracks]
8 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y7F3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Hip-O Select


  • Buy for $0.991.He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother
  • Buy for $0.992.Stand by Me
  • Buy for $0.993.When My Love Hand Comes Down
  • Buy for $0.994.Got to See If I Can't Get Mommy (To Come Back Home)
  • Buy for $0.995.Your Love Was Worth Waiting For
  • Buy for $0.996.Steppin' on a Dream
  • Buy for $0.997.Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
  • Buy for $0.998.True Love Can Be Beautiful
  • Buy for $0.999.Turn Back the Hands of Time
  • Buy for $0.9910.Set 'Em Up (Move in for the Thrill)
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Things We Have to Do
  • Buy for $0.9912.Lo and Behold
  • Buy for $0.9913.You're What I Need (Not What I Want) - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Stand by Me [Brothers Mix] - (remix, previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Junius Griffin; Stu Hackel.
Recording information: Studio B (02/23/1969); Studio B (03/06/1970); Studio B (03/16/1970); Studio B (03/18/1969); Studio B (03/18/1970); Studio B (03/30/1970); Studio B (04/01/1970); Studio B (04/08/1970); Studio B (04/13/1970); Studio B (04/14/1970); Studio B (04/15/1970); Studio B (04/16/1790); Studio B (04/16/1970); Studio B (04/17/1970); Studio B (04/18/1970); Studio B (04/20/1970); Studio B (04/21/1970); Studio B (04/22/1970); Studio B (04/23/1970); Studio B (04/24/1969); Studio B (04/25/1970); Studio B (04/27/1969); Studio B (04/27/1970); Studio B (04/28/1970); Studio B (04/29/1970); Studio B (04/30/1970); Studio B (06/07/1970).
Motown had a history of recording different artists together, so why not the Ruffin Brothers? Jimmy and David had both enjoyed success; Jimmy charted with "What Becomes of the Brokenhearted," and David had sung with the Temptations and enjoyed a solo hit with "My Whole World Ended." These songs have a harder sound then the brothers usually exhibit as solo artists. Four remakes nest with eight originals. While the former are done well, they won't make you forget the originals. "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)," the Delfonics hit, is the most interesting of the re-recordings; the Ruffins give the sweet Philly song a rougher edge. Motown released the exciting, uptempo "When My Love Hand Comes Down" as a single, but it failed to establish the brothers as hitmakers. The confessional "Your Love Was Worth Waiting For" and "Got to See If I Can't Get Mommy (To Come Back Home)" are two sweeties; the latter begins with an endearing father to son monologue, and "He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother" is given an epic treatment. David's rough tenor and Jimmy's sweet tenor/baritone mesh well throughout an LP that should have been more successful. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for David Ruffin

Product Info

  • UPC: 602527372884
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)