A Complete Introduction to Sugar Hill Records (4-CD)
by Various Artists

A Complete Introduction to Sugar Hill Records
Only 4 copies left
Sale: $29.69
SUPER SAVINGS: $28.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $32.99
You Save: $4.64 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  Y7EG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 29, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sanctuary Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.97
4 stars out of 5 -- "[C]uts such as '8th Wonder' and 'It's The Joint' still sound fresh 30 years on."
Uncut (magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his set adds compendious notes and the longest mixes of each track available."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rapper's Delight [Long Version] - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 2.We Got the Funk [12" Mix] - Positive Force (remix)
  • 3.Funk You Up [12" Version] - The Sequence
  • 4.Super Wolf Can Do It - Super Wolf
  • 5.Hot Hot Summer Day - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 6.And You Know That - The Sequence
  • 7.Freedom - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 8.8th Wonder - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 9.Monster Jam - The Sequence / Spoonie Gee
  • 10.Birthday Party - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel, The - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 2.That's the Joint [Long Version] - Funky 4 Plus 1
  • 3.Showdown - The Sugarhill Gang / Furious Five
  • 4.Let's Dance (Make Your Body Move) - West Street Mob
  • 5.Spoonie Is Back - Spoonie Gee
  • 6.Ahh Dance - Fine Quality
  • 7.We Want to Rock - Crash Crew
  • 8.Apache - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 9.It's Nasty (Genius of Love) - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 10.Sing a Simple Song - West Street Mob
  • 11.Lover in You, The - The Sugarhill Gang

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Message, The - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five - (featuring Duke Bootee / Melle Mel)
  • 2.Do You Want to Rock - Funky Four
  • 3.Scratchin' - Crash Crew
  • 4.Making Cash Money - Busy Bee
  • 5.Scorpio - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 6.Mirda Rock - Reggie Griffin
  • 7.Message II (Survival) - Duke Bootee / Melle Mel
  • 8.Breaking Bells (Take Me to the Mardi Gras) - Crash Crew
  • 9.Yes We Can-Can - Treacherous Three
  • 10.New York, New York - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 11.Kick It Live from 9 To 5 - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 12.Break Dance - Electric Boogie - West Street Mob

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.White Lines (Don't Do It) [Long Version] - Grandmaster Flash / Melle Mel
  • 2.Feel It (The Mexican) - Funky Four
  • 3.Malcolm X - No Sell Out - The Sugarhill All Stars
  • 4.We Are Known as Emcees (We Turn Party's Out) - Crash Crew
  • 5.Turning You On - Treacherous Three
  • 6.Jesse - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five
  • 7.Beat Street - Cowboy / Mr. Ness / Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
  • 8.Livin' in the Fast Lane - The Sugarhill Gang
  • 9.I Can't Stop - West Street Mob
  • 10.Step Off - Furious Five - (featuring Cowboy / Melle Mel)
  • 11.Busy Bee's Groove - Busy Bee
  • 12.Turn It Up - Treacherous Three - (featuring Kool Moe Dee)
  • 13.Down Beat, The - The Sugarhill Gang

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Quinton Scott.
Introduction by: Dean Rudland.
Photographers: Janette Beckman; Joe Conzo.
Several Sugar Hill anthologies have been released, but few of them have been put together with such care as A Complete Introduction to Sugar Hill Records. Released through Universal U.K., it's a four-disc box that contains just about every Sugar Hill cut a fan with deep interest could want. The 14-minute version of the Sugarhill Gang's "Rapper's Delight," the 12-minute version of the Sequence's "Funk You Up," the nine-minute version of Funky 4 + 1's "That's the Joint," Grandmaster Flash's "The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel," and Busy Bee's "Making Cash Money" merely scratch the surface. The accompanying booklet, filled with in-depth liner notes, thorough release information, and photos, make the box well worth leaving on your coffee table. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 602527364841
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)