John Denver Live at Cedar Rapids 12/10/87 (2-CD)

Live at Cedar Rapids 12/10/87 (2-CD)
32 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $3 (14% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FDS7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 20, 2010
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Description by

What is the sound of an audience eating out of the palm of a performer's hand? Utter silence - and that's what you hear while John Denver is singing or speaking during this two hour-plus concert. It's not just that John's performances (part acoustic, part with a string quartet), drawn from his vast repertoire, are flawless; it's also that his manner with the audience is so humble, so engaging, that he immediately creates a hushed intimacy with the crowd, and never more so than when he tells the story of how it was almost he and not Christa McAuliffe who was chosen to be the civilian aboard the ill-fated Challenger mission.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Love Is the Master
  • 2.Mother Nature's Son
  • 3.Farewell Andromeda (Welcome to My Morning)
  • 4.[John Speaks to the Audience]
  • 5.Take Me Home, Country Roads
  • 6.Grandma's Feather Bed
  • 7.Back Home Again
  • 8.Matthew
  • 9.Today
  • 10.Blow Up Your TV (Spanish Pipe Dream)
  • 11.Saturday Night in Toledo, Ohio
  • 12.Wild Montana Skies
  • 13.Rhymes and Reasons
  • 14.The Eagle and the Hawk
  • 15.Flying for Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.How Can I Leave You Again
  • 2.I'm Sorry
  • 3.Shanghai Breezes
  • 4.Fly Away
  • 5.For You
  • 6.My Sweet Lady
  • 7.Heart to Heart
  • 8.The Ambulance Down in the Valley
  • 9.[John Speaks to the Audience]
  • 10.Let Us Begin (What Are We Making Weapons For)
  • 11.Poems, Prayers & Promises
  • 12.Rocky Mountain High
  • 13.Annie's Song
  • 14.Calypso
  • 15.Falling Leaves (The Refugees)

Product Description:

This 1987 concert has been parceled out before, with portions of the lengthy set appearing on PBS releases called Live & Unreleased, but this 2010 Collectors' Choice set contains the full 30-track concert spread over two discs. John Denver may have been several years removed from the height of his fame, but he did not hesitate to alternate between his hits ("Take Me Home, Country Roads," "Grandma's Feather Bed," "Rocky Mountain High," "Annie's Song," "Calypso") and newer songs, with the latter actually dominating. This makes Live at Cedar Rapids 12/10/87 the province of hardcore fans but, truthfully, they are the main audience for a release such like this in 2010, and they will be satisfied by this thoroughly assured date. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Denver

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742600223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)