A Complete Introduction to Disco (4-CD)
by Various Artists

A Complete Introduction to Disco (4-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $59.38
List Price: $77.98
You Save: $18.60 (24% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  ECCG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: August 24, 2010
  • Label: Universal Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.98
4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] some of the music's biggest landmarks alongside seminal club classics..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Love's Theme - Love Unlimited Orchestra
  • 2.Backstabbers - The O'Jays
  • 3.Law of the Land - The Temptations
  • 4.Soul Makossa - Manu Dibango
  • 5.Black Skin Blue Eyed Boys - The Equals
  • 6.Hot Pants...I'm Coming, I'm Coming, I'm Coming - Bobby Byrd
  • 7.Get Ready - Rare Earth
  • 8.Beggin' - Timebox
  • 9.Everyday People - Sly & the Family Stone
  • 10.I'll Take You There - The Staple Singers
  • 11.Theme from Shaft - Isaac Hayes
  • 12.Tell Me What You Want - Jimmy Ruffin
  • 13.Hey Girl Come and Get It - The Stylistics
  • 14.Rock Your Baby, Pts. 1-2 - George McCrae
  • 15.Love Don't You Go Through No Changes on Me - Sister Sledge
  • 16.Girl You Need a Change of Mind - Eddie Kendricks
  • 17.Satin Soul - Gene Page
  • 18.Blue Eyed Soul - Carl Douglas
  • 19.Doctor's Orders - Carol Douglas
  • 20.Shame Shame Shame - Shirley & Company
  • 21.Machine Gun - Commodores

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hustle, The - The Soul City Symphony / Van McCoy
  • 2.Get Down Tonight - KC & The Sunshine Band
  • 3.Never Can Say Goodbye - Gloria Gaynor
  • 4.It's in His Kiss - Linda Lewis
  • 5.Forever Came Today - The Jackson 5
  • 6.Walking in Rhythm - The Blackbyrds
  • 7.Dreaming a Dream - Crown Heights Affair
  • 8.It Only Takes a Minute - Tavares
  • 9.Ten Percent - Double Exposure
  • 10.That's Where the Happy People Go - The Trammps
  • 11.Young Hearts Run Free - Candi Staton
  • 12.Open Sesame - Kool & the Gang
  • 13.Down to Town Love - The Originals
  • 14.Love Hangover - Diana Ross
  • 15.Turn the Beat Around - Vicki Sue Robinson
  • 16.Cherchez la Femme / C'est Si Bon - Dr. Buzzard's Original Savannah Band

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Don't Leave Me This Way - Thelma Houston
  • 2.Let No Man Put Asunder - First Choice
  • 3.Cocomotion - El Coco
  • 4.Love in C Minor - Cerrone
  • 5.I Feel Love - Donna Summer
  • 6.From Here to Eternity - Giorgio
  • 7.Dance Dance Dance (Yowsah Yowsah Yowsah) - Chic
  • 8.I Need a Man - Grace Jones
  • 9.Romeo & Juliet - Alec R. Costandinos
  • 10.Risky Changes - Bionic Boogie
  • 11.In the Bush - Musique
  • 12.Let's Start the Dance - Bohannon
  • 13.You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) - Sylvester
  • 14.Souvenirs - Voyage

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Vertigo / Relight My Fire - Dan Hartman
  • 2.After Dark - Pattie Brooks
  • 3.Runner, The - The Three Degrees
  • 4.Take That to the Bank - Shalamar
  • 5.Dance with You - Carrie Lucas
  • 6.Dancer - Gino Soccio
  • 7.Space Bass - Slick
  • 8.Can't Live Without Your Love - Tamiko Jones
  • 9.I Need Your Lovin' - Teena Marie
  • 10.Casanova - Coffee
  • 11.Boss, The - Diana Ross
  • 12.Take Me Home - Cher
  • 13.Last Dance - Donna Summer

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Wayne A. Dickson.
Universal UK continues its Complete Introduction series -- which has showcased Northern soul, Tamla/Motown, Chess, and progressive rock -- with an overview of disco that spans the '70s, tracing proto-disco through early strains of post-disco. It's not a lazy trawl through the vast Universal catalog. Instead, the compilers pulled up a broad range of popular and obscure '70s dance music, a fair amount of which had to be licensed, and squeezed as much as possible into four discs. (The combined dead space between the discs is less than five minutes.) Its roughly chronological sequence illustrates disco's origins and its peak period, and points toward its continued evolution, demonstrating that it wasn't some fad that materialized out of thin air and suddenly vanished. This is one of those rare sets that works for casual and fanatical listeners alike. The former should be overwhelmed by the bounty of big hits -- the O'Jays' "Backstabbers," KC & the Sunshine Band's "Get Down Tonight," Diana Ross' "Love Hangover," and Vickie Sue Robinson's "Turn the Beat Around" among them -- and struck by the quality level of the unfamiliar songs, which merely hints at disco's variety and depth. (If there is a bottom, it must be too far down to hear a digger's screams.) Expert-level disco heads might scoff at the notion of Cher mixing it up with Manu Dibango and Slick, but the lack of elitism is part of what makes the box special; besides, those who pick it up to plug a few holes could come away with a new level of appreciation for the crossover stuff. While imperfections can be pinpointed (nothing from the Prelude or West End labels, nothing from the mighty duo of James Mtume and Reggie Lucas, not enough Syndrum laser beams, or whatever), they would be nitpicks. The accompanying booklet is a small treasure itself. Its 35 pages are filled with images of the sleeves and labels, comprehensive songwriting, production, year of release, and label credits, and track-by-track commentary from a wide range of artists, DJs, and writers (including Tom Moulton, Jody Watley, and Arthur Baker). Most libraries, private and public, should own a copy. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 600753285145
  • Shipping Weight: 0.53/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)