The Heptones Peace & Harmony: The Trojan Anthology (2-CD)

Peace & Harmony: The Trojan Anthology (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FDRY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 12, 2004
  • Label: Sanctuary Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gunmen Coming to Town
  • 2.Schoolgirls
  • 3.Ain't That Bad
  • 4.I Am Lonely
  • 5.My World Is Empty Without You
  • 6.Hypocrite
  • 7.Save the Last Dance For Me
  • 8.Be the One
  • 9.Our Day Will Come
  • 10.Freedom to the People
  • 11.Every Day and Every Night
  • 12.God Bless the Children
  • 13.Love Has Many Faces
  • 14.I've Got a Feeling
  • 15.The Magnificent Heptones
  • 16.I'm in the Mood For Love
  • 17.I've Been Trying
  • 18.H-E-L-P
  • 19.I'll Take You Home
  • 20.Old Time
  • 21.Meaning of Life
  • 22.I Miss You Pt. 1
  • 23.Let Me Hold Your Hand
  • 24.Black on Black (Be a Man)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Suffering So
  • 2.Peace and Harmony
  • 3.Autalene
  • 4.Do Good to Everyone
  • 5.Over and Over
  • 6.Book of Rules - (Ja. mix)
  • 7.Wah Go Home
  • 8.Mama Say - (Ja. mix)
  • 9.I'm Crying (A.K.A. I Remember)
  • 10.Tripe Girl
  • 11.Love Won't Come Easy
  • 12.Born to Love You
  • 13.Guiding Star
  • 14.Party Time
  • 15.Country Boy
  • 16.Cool Rasta
  • 17.Dreadlock
  • 18.Love Me Girl
  • 19.Babylon Falling
  • 20.Mistry Babylon
  • 21.Through the Fire - (extended mix)
  • 22.Garden of Life

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Harry Hawke.
Sort of Jamaica's version of the Temptations, the Heptones (Leroy Sibbles, Barry Llewellyn, Earl Morgan, and later, Naggo Morris) have been one of reggae's finest harmony trios since the 1960s, continually riding out the ever-shifting style changes in the island's musical landscape by sticking to their roots. Fans of the trio have been waiting a long time for a comprehensive release that would give a solid overview of their career, and while this two-disc set from Trojan/Sanctuary goes a long way toward that aim, it falls short in a couple key spots. Peace & Harmony is still a marvelous and valuable set -- the Heptones have been too consistent a group for too long to make any compilation a complete failure -- but the holes are bothersome. Nothing from their stay at Coxsone Dodd's Studio One label is included here, and the key tracks ("Sufferer's Time," "Party Time") from their best album, the Lee "Scratch" Perry-produced Party Time, are also missing. So what listeners get is a decent chronological survey of the group from its start on Ken Lack's Caltone label in the late '60s through their late-'70s work with Niney the Observer, with some grave omissions. All that said, there is delightful music here, including the Heptones' first release in 1966, an absolutely bizarre interpretation of The William Tell Overture called "Gunmen Coming to Town"; the sublime and wise "Hypocrite" (produced by Joe Gibbs) from 1971; a pair of Alvin Ranglin gems, 1973's "Old Time" and "Meaning of Life"; and a solid cover of Curtis Mayfield's "I've Been Trying," produced by Sonia Pottinger in 1972. There are two Perry-produced cuts, "Babylon Falling" and "Mistry Babylon," and while these are fine, displaying the vintage Black Ark sound, they are far from the best tracks the Heptones delivered with Perry. Likewise, the extended mix of "Through the Fire," the lone cut from producer Niney the Observer, only hints at the body of work the group did with him. One of the Heptones' most fruitful (if somewhat unsung) periods was their stay with producer Harry Johnson in the mid-'70s, and several excellent tracks from that relationship ("Suffering So," "Book of Rules," "Mama Say," "Country Boy," "Cool Rasta") are included here. In the end, Peace & Harmony does a decent -- but not perfect -- job of presenting this fine trio's history. Listeners who want to get the story in a complete fashion should pick up this compilation, but amend it by also picking up On Top for the Studio One material and the excellent Perry-produced Party Time album, which was arguably an artistic high point for the Heptones. This group deserves a thoroughly annotated box set, but until that day, Peace & Harmony is probably as close as listeners are going to get. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Heptones

Product Info

  • UPC: 060768048720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)