Peter Wolf Midnight Souvenirs

Midnight Souvenirs
39 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  EC72
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 6, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Verve

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.64
4 stars out of 5 -- "Wolf's enthusiasm is contagious on a series of duets with some A-list peers. 'The Green Fields of Summer' is a striking acoustic song where Wolf and Neko Case exude stark, autumnal beauty."


  • 1.Tragedy (with Shelby Lynne)
  • 2.I Don't Wanna Know
  • 3.Watch Her Move
  • 4.There's Still Time
  • 5.Lying Low
  • 6.The Green Fields Of Summer (with Neko Case)
  • 7.Thick As Thieves
  • 8.Always Asking For You
  • 9.Then It Leaves Us All Behind
  • 10.Overnight Lows
  • 11.Everything I Do (Gonna Be Funky)
  • 12.Don't Try To Change Her
  • 13.The Night Comes Down (for Willy Deville)
  • 14.It's Too Late For Me (with Merle Haggard)

Product Description:

Personnel: Chris Cardona, Antoine Silverman, Entcho Todorov, Jonathan Dinklage (violin); Anik Oulianine, Anja Wood (cello).
Recording information: 8H Studios, Boston, MA; Camp St., Cambridge, MA; Crushing Music; Joe Music; Middleville Studio, North Reading, MA; Mobile Recording; Red House Studios, NYC; Sear Sound, NYC; Shabby Road Studios; Wooly Mammoth.
Photographers: Jon Strymish; Joe Stewart ; Tracy Berglund; Peter Wolf .
Take the "Midnight" in Midnight Souvenirs, the seventh solo album by Peter Wolf, to heart: this is music made for the middle of the night, whether it's for reflection or relaxation. Wolf remains rooted in his deep love of soul and R&B, but the very choice of Shelby Lynne, Neko Case, and Merle Haggard as duet partners here is a clear signal of how he's stretching out somewhat, digging into country in a way he never has before, but it's too easy to make too big a deal out of these elements. These are flavorings, just like how the cool vamps of "Watch Her Move" distinguish it from the smooth Philly soul vibe of "Overnight Lows" or the lived-in, worn-in grooves of a cover of Allen Toussaint's "Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky." All of this, including the stately sway of the Case duet "The Green Fields of Summer" or the minor-key stomp of "Thick as Thieves" or the train-track roll of "I'm Always Asking for You," is recognizably the work of Wolf, picking up the thread that runs from J. Geils to his last solo album, 2002's Sleepless, of which this feels like a rich expansion. Wolf's touch here is easy and assured, so it feels familiar upon the first spin but better upon repeats, when the songs truly take hold and the conversational nature of the performances settle in, revealing the warmth and skill beneath the surface. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 39 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Peter Wolf

Product Info

  • UPC: 602527299532
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)