Ike Turner The Sun Sessions

The Sun Sessions
3 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JH9W
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Varese Sarabande

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 3-4/02, p.79
"...Some of the hottest, most progressive music to come out of the Delta in the immediate postwar period..."


  • 1.Get It Over Baby
  • 2.Dead Letter Blues
  • 3.Hey Little Girl
  • 4.I'm Gonna Forget About You Baby (Matchbox)
  • 5.The Snuggle
  • 6.No Teasing Around
  • 7.Love Is a Gamble
  • 8.You Can't Be the One for Me
  • 9.I'm Not Going Home
  • 10.Ugly Woman
  • 11.Bourbon Street Jump
  • 12.When My Baby Quit Me #2
  • 13.Old Brother Jack
  • 14.How Long Will It Last
  • 15.If Loving Is Believing
  • 16.Way Down in the Congo
  • 17.Why Should I Keep Trying
  • 18.When My Baby Quit Me #1
  • 19.I'm Lonesome Baby - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 20.The Woodchuck

Product Description:

& The Kings Of Rhythm.
Personnel includes: Ike Turner, Tommy Hodge, Johnny O'Neal, Billy "The Kid" Emerson, Raymond Hill, Bonnie Turner.
Compilation producers: Cary E. Mansfield, Bill Dahl.
Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch, DigiPrep, Hollywood, California.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Recording information: St. Louis, MO (03/05/1951-??/??/1958); Sun Studio, Copenhagen, Denmark (03/05/1951-??/??/1958).
The early recordings of Ike Turner & His Kings of Rhythm (also sometimes known as the Kings of Rhythm featuring Ike Turner) are scattered all over the map, mostly owing to the sheer number of labels for which they recorded from 1951 until 1958. Astonishingly, given their reputation, Turner's Sun Records sides have always been a lot tougher to get hold of than the stuff he did for the RPM and Federal labels, which are downright ubiquitous on CD. Varese has fixed that problem with this 19-song disc covering his work for Sam Phillips between 1951 and 1958, working in every idiom from mournful blues ballads such as "You Can't Be the One for Me" (featuring Tommy Hodge) and "When My Baby Left Me" (sung by Billy "The Kid" Emerson) to the bouncy jump blues of "Love Is a Gamble," featuring his then-girlfriend Bonnie Turner on vocals. A couple of instrumentals, "The Snuggle" and "Bourbon Street Jump," also make this worth hearing as a cross-section of the band's sound and output, and some of the sides also present Turner's guitar, up close and personal -- indeed, the best track on the album is arguably "Ugly Woman," one of the funniest songs in Turner's output and one that shows off the bandleader/guitarist/singer Johnny O'Neal working on all cylinders in overdrive. Tommy Hodge is the most consistent singer here, though the disc is also worth hearing for Bonnie Turner's work -- whatever their other attributes, Turner evidently did choose the women around him at least partly on the basis of their vocal skills. The sound is excellent and the annotation by Bill Dahl is thorough and very well detailed. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ike Turner

Product Info

  • UPC: 030206623222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)