Al Di Meola Splendido Hotel / Electric Rendevous (2-CD)

Splendido Hotel / Electric Rendevous (2-CD)
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.04 Limited Time Only
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $1.95 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  H2GH
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Alien Chase On Arabian Desert
  • 2.Silent Story In Her Eyes
  • 3.Roller Jubilee
  • 4.Two To Tango
  • 5.Al Di's Dream Theme
  • 6.Dinner Music of the Gods
  • 7.Splendido Sundance
  • 8.I Can Tell
  • 9.Spanish Eyes
  • 10.Isfahan
  • 11.Bianca's Midnight Lullaby

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.God Bird Change
  • 2.Electric Rendezvous
  • 3.Passion, Grace & Fire
  • 4.Cruisin'
  • 5.Black Cat Shuffle
  • 6.Ritmo De La Noche
  • 7.Somalia
  • 8.Jewel Inside a Dream

Product Description:

Personnel: Al Di Meola (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, mandocello, celesta, drums, castanets); Les Paul (electric guitar); Carol Shive (viola); Raymond Kelley, Dennies Karmzyn (cello); Chick Corea (piano); Philippe Saisse (keyboards, Moog synthesizer, marimba, background vocals); Jan Hammer (keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Pete Cannarozzi (Oberheim synthesizer); Anthony Jackson (bass guitar); Steve Gadd (drums, percussion); Robbie Gonzalez (drums); Mingo Lewis (congas, bongos, electronic drums, percussion); Eddie Colon (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Alyn Shipton.
Recording information: CBS Recording Studios, New York, NY; Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY; Love Castle Studios, LA; Minot Sound Studios, White Plains; The Power Station, New York, NY.
Illustrator: Mark Hess.
Photographer: Keith Williamson.
The ex-Return to Forever guitarist's fourth and fifth solo releases (from 1980 and 1982) get the B.G.O. reissue treatment, which is to say these two albums are remastered and collected in a single sleeve. Splendido Hotel compacts the original, sprawling double-record onto a single 68-minute CD, but the compact Electric Rendezvous, perhaps a reaction to his previous album's more lengthy selections, clocks in at a conservative 34 minutes. That leaves lots of room on the disc, which B.G.O. could have filled out with either one of his succeeding discs. Regardless, these well-recorded sets both sound terrific and Di Meola fans will applaud their appearance in this classy package. Despite the ill-advised debut of a Di Meola vocal on the sappy "I Can Tell," an embarrassing attempt to pull off a George Benson-styled makeover that will send most lunging for their "skip track" button, Splendido Hotel successfully tackles a variety of music styles. Besides the typical hot fusion jazz/Latin rock of the sizzling opener "Alien Chase on Arabian Desert" that has become Di Meola's calling card, he stretches out with stunning acoustic playing on the extended "Isfahan" suite. That track also opens with an intro from the Columbus Boychoir before setting off on a dramatic and intense ten-minute journey that features Chick Corea's piano and a classical string quartet. Fusion devotees will thrill to the tricky time signatures, soaring guitar, intricate playing, and thumping drums of "Dinner Music of the Gods" which is followed by a beautiful, flamenco-styled solo unplugged piece where Di Meola duets with himself. A funky, somewhat unlikely cover of Bert Kaempfert's "Spanish Eyes" transports the old chestnut to the present with a dance beat. Di Meola brings in an all-star backing band for Electric Rendezvous, which features the ubiquitous Steve Gadd on drums, bassist Anthony Jackson and, most prominently, Jan Hammer on electric keyboards. Hammer's early-'80s "Miami Vice" synths are dated, but the interplay between him and the guitarist provides some of the album's most frantic sparks. Paco de Lucia duets on "Passion, Grace & Fire," another suite-styled track that goes through a variety of rhythmic changes. These songs are generally shorter and the production less fussy throughout, with Hammer's "Cruisin'," a melodic jazz-rock highlight. Di Meola borrows licks from Santana on "Ritmo de la Noche," a lovely instrumental that takes cues from Carlos Santana's "Europa." It's a short but sweet disc that makes a superb companion to the more expansive and exotic Splendido Hotel. ~ Hal Horowitz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Al Di Meola

Product Info

  • UPC: 5017261209276
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)