Millie Jackson Live and Uncensored (2-CD)

Live and Uncensored (2-CD)
22 ratings
SALE: $26.99
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  WBRK 38
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 1, 1991
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Westbound Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Keep The Home Fire Burnin'
  • 2.Logs And Thangs
  • 3.Put Something Down On It
  • 4.Da Ya Think I'm Sexy?
  • 5.Put Something Down On It (Reprise)
  • 6.Just When I Needed You Most
  • 7.Phuck U Symphony
  • 8.What Am I Waiting For
  • 9.I Still Love You (You Still Love Me)
  • 10.All The Way Lover
  • 11.The Soaps
  • 12.All The Way Lover (Reprise)
  • 13.Hold The Line
  • 14.Be A Sweetheart
  • 15.Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
  • 16.Give It Up
  • 17.A Moment's Pleasure

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.If Loving You Is Wrong (I Don't Want To Be Right)
  • 2.The Rap
  • 3.If Loving You Is Wrong (I Don't Want To Be Right) (Reprise)
  • 4.Never Change Lovers In The Middle Of The Night
  • 5.Sweet Music Man
  • 6.It Hurts So Good
  • 7.Sweet Music Man (Reprise)
  • 8.Passion
  • 9.A Horse Or Mule
  • 10.Lovers And Girlfriends
  • 11.Don't You Ever Stop Loving Me
  • 12.I Had To Say It
  • 13.Still
  • 14.Ugly Men
  • 15.This Is It

Product Description:

Personnel: Millie Jackson (vocals); Jerry Shook (guitar); McNeal Anderson (trumpet); Al Brevard (trombone); Harold Small (keyboards); George Morland (drums); Vicki Hampton, Yvonne Hodges (background vocals).
Audio Remixer: Dave Boyer .
Recording information: Mr. Vees Figure 8, Atlanta, GA; Roxy.
Unknown Contributor Role: Jerry Shook.
Hilariously racy monologues were a hallmark of Millie Jackson's concerts, as the title of Live and Uncensored implies. Beyond the foul-mouthed hijinks on this 1979 release, though, Jackson created witty narratives that covered everything from sexual foibles to soap operas, and in the process dressed down both sexes; hypocritically coy women are directed to "Give It Up," while in "The Rap" and "Be a Sweetheart," bumbling and sexually rabid men get roundly manipulated. Jackson turns TV critic on "The Soaps" to blast the inanity of daytime television, and on "Logs and Thangs" offers up some well-worn yet sophisticated sexual innuendo. And, yes, there is music here as well. Jackson delivers fine examples of her Bobby Womack/Stax-inspired brand of soul on "(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right," "Just When I Needed You Most," and "What Am I Waiting For," and prefigures hip-hop diva Mary J. Blige with her slightly hoarse yet honeyed vocal delivery on "I Still Love You (You Still Love Me)" -- replete with some fine breakbeats. Womack gets his due as Jackson's medley of Rod Stewart's "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy?" and Womack's own "Put Something Down on It" reveals the Brit's debt to the great soul writer/producer. Aside from a few forgettable moments like a classical music parody and some weak disco, Live and Uncensored is a strong document of Millie Jackson in her element. [This two-disc CD reissue of Live and Uncensored includes Jackson's 1982 follow-up album, Live and Outrageous, as a bonus.] ~ Stephen Cook

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Millie Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667373821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)