Chuck Jackson Tribute to Rhythm and Blues, Vols. 1-2

Tribute to Rhythm and Blues, Vols. 1-2
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H29G
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 4, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Kent Records Uk


  • 1.Theme to the Blues
  • 2.You Don't Know Like I Know
  • 3.A Change Is Gonna Come
  • 4.Get Out of My Life, Woman
  • 5.Sweet Sixteen
  • 6.Satisfaction
  • 7.All in My Mind
  • 8.The Love of My Girl
  • 9.I'm So Thankful
  • 10.Something's Got a Hold on Me
  • 11.Quarter to Three
  • 12.Ya Ya
  • 13.Getting Ready Medley: Get Ready / Barefootin'/Uptight (Everything's ...)
  • 14.Sunny
  • 15.634-5789
  • 16.Hold On! I'm Comin'
  • 17.Blowin' in the Wind
  • 18.I've Got to Be Strong
  • 19.Where Did She Stay
  • 20.My Baby Loves Me
  • 21.Every Man Needs a Down Home Girl
  • 22.Theme to the Blues, Pt. 2

Product Description:

Personnel: Chuck Jackson (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
In 1966, Chuck Jackson cut a pair of albums that marked a genuine departure from the polished pop-soul production style of his best-known work. Setting up in the studio with his road band (led by saxman Bobby Scott), Jackson and company knocked out simple but passionate versions of a handful of major R&B hits "as we pay tribute to the great ones in the rhythm and blues field -- not to copy, just to tribute," as he says in his spoken introduction to the first album. The two albums, believed by fans to have been cut at the same time, are paired up on this two-fer CD release, and they reveal a usually hidden side of Jackson's music. While Jackson sounded like a smooth, mannered professional on many of his hits, in this context he allows himself to loosen up a bit, and the results show off a grittier and harder-edged side of his musical personality, with Jackson adding some sorrowful corners to his Lee Dorsey covers and putting his heart and soul into Sam Cooke's epochal "A Change Is Gonna Come." (It's also unexpectedly amusing to hear him sing Gary "U.S." Bonds' party anthem "Quarter to Three" and realize he either didn't know the song's real lyrics or just didn't care to sing them.) The uptempo medley of soul hits that kicks off the second volume suggests that these albums were meant to capture the energy and emotion of Jackson's live show in the studio, and while this isn't as revelatory as Sam Cooke's One Night Stand: Live at the Harlem Square Club, 1963, it does demonstrate that Jackson's hit singles didn't represent the beginning and end of his musical vision. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chuck Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667224727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)