Chuck Jackson Chuck Jackson on Tour / Dedicated to the King!!

Chuck Jackson on Tour / Dedicated to the King!!
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H297
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 28, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Kent Records Uk


  • 1.Billie Baby
  • 2.Any Other Way
  • 3.Any Day Now
  • 4.Please, Please, Please
  • 5.Stand By Me
  • 6.Medley: Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
  • 7.I Can?t Stop Loving You
  • 8.I Wake Up Crying
  • 9.Beg Me
  • 10.I Will Never Turn My Back On You
  • 11.I Don?t Want To Cry
  • 12.Chuck?s Soul Brother?s Twist
  • 13.Hound Dog
  • 14.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 15.Don?t Be Cruel (To A Heart That?s True)
  • 16.Jailhouse Rock
  • 17.Teddy Bear
  • 18.Love Me Tender
  • 19.Crying In The Chapel
  • 20.Don?t
  • 21.I Forgot To Remember To Forget
  • 22.It?s Now Or Never

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Editor: Stan Green.
Photographer: Burt Goldblatt.
Arranger: Stan Green.
This two-fer reissues a pair of uptown soul great Chuck Jackson's mid-'60s efforts for Wand. Recorded at Harlem's legendary Apollo Theater in 1964, Chuck Jackson on Tour captures the singer in support of his then-current single "Beg Me." Backed by Bobby Scott and his band, Jackson delivers dynamic, rousing versions of past hits like "Any Day Now," "I Wake Up Crying" and "I Will Never Turn My Back on You," but the real draw here is the well-chosen cover material: readings of James Brown's "Please, Please, Please," Ben E. King's "Stand by Me," and William Bell's "Any Other Way" prove excellent vehicles for his gruff, emotional vocals. Also noteworthy is Jackson's easy, charming between-song patter -- it's clear from the cheers and screams that he has the audience eating out of his hand, again begging the question of why his considerable talents never crossed over to greater success. Dedicated to the King!! is a soulful and respectful tribute to the music of Elvis Presley that wisely avoids the schmaltz Presley recorded upon going Hollywood in favor of the perennially vital rock & roll classics he cut at the outset of his career. Jackson sheds his trademark sophistication to get down and dirty on these ten tracks, instilling pop classics like "Heartbreak Hotel," "Jailhouse Rock," and "Hound Dog" with surprising grit and potency -- best of all is his poignant reading of "Crying in the Chapel," borrowed by Presley from R&B legends the Orioles. ~ Jason Ankeny

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chuck Jackson

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667225427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)