Giacomo Gates Centerpiece

5 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y8GG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Origin Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.992.I Told You I Love You, Now Get Out
  • Buy for $0.993.Centerpiece
  • Buy for $0.994.Meldey: How High The Moon / Ornithology
  • Buy for $0.995.You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • Buy for $0.996.All of Me
  • Buy for $0.997.Lady Bird
  • Buy for $0.998.Route 66
  • Buy for $0.999.Scotch & Soda
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lester Leaps In / I Got The Blues
  • Buy for $0.9911.Milestones
  • Buy for $0.9912.Hittin' The Jug / Swan Song

Product Description:

Personnel: Giacomo Gates (vocals); Vic Juris (guitar); Vincent Herring (alto saxophone); Harold Danko (piano); Ray Drummond (double bass); Greg Bandy (drums).
Centerpiece is the third album from Connecticut-based crooner Giacomo Gates. This is full-fledged jazz lounge singing at its contemporary best. The songs are standards from throughout the timeline of jazz, but with an extra ounce of emphasis on some of the writers: Cole Porter, Eddie Jefferson, and King Pleasure. There are clear echoes in Gates' technique of Sinatra at times, Lambert, Hendricks & Ross methods at times, and maybe a bit of Joe Williams on some of the bop standards. With these echoes and influences in hand, Gates then fuses them into a coherent style of his own. The great thing here, beyond being able to mimic aspects of the greats, is his ability to jump from style to style along the way and claim the songs for himself. In "Route 66," he slows the pace down to a lazy croon. In "I Got the Blues," he picks up the phrasing to a jumping bop format very reminiscent of a sped-up round of some of the Dizzy Gillespie/Joe Carroll classics. The forward drive is only enhanced as he smashes into a lyricized version of "Milestones" (which also features some exceptional solos from the band). The album is an exceptional take on vocal jazz, which tends to lose its sheer power and fun in favor of sentimentality in many new artists. Gates reclaims the fun of it and keeps the technical aspects at peak performance to boot. Definitely worth picking up for any fan of older styles of vocal jazz, and most likely for fans of contemporary vocal jazz to get a glimpse of a different take. ~ Adam Greenberg

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Giacomo Gates

Product Info

  • UPC: 805558242823
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)