Doug Hamilton Jazz Band Doug Hamilton Jazz Band

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  OAT 22045

CD Details

  • Released: August 19, 2008
  • Label: Oa2


  • 1.By MYself - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 2.Up Jumped Spring - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 3.Modal Blues - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 4.I Love You - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 5.Paula - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 6.Oleo - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 7.That's All - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 8.Very Early - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 9.Scarborough Fair - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 10.Styptic Pencil - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 11.My Funny Valentine - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 12.Day By Day - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)
  • 13.Samba - (with Doug Hamilton Jazz Band)

Product Description:

Doug Hamilton Jazz Band: Bill Linney (alto); Tedd Baker (tenor, tenor saxophone); Scott Silbert (baritone); Jim Roberts (guitar); Craig Fraedrich, Liesl Whitaker (trumpet); Matt Niess (trombone); Tony Nalker (piano); Paul "Turk" Henry (bass instrument); Dave McDonald, Steve Fidyk (drums).
Personnel: SSG Bill E. Linney (alto).
Audio Mixer: Bob Dawson.
Liner Note Author: Doug Hamilton.
Recording information: Bias Recording, Springfield, VA (06/2007-09/2007).
Arrangers: Doug Hamilton; Rick Wilkins; Mark Taylor ; Rick Wilkins.
Riding the wave of resurgence of the large ensemble in jazz, trombonist/arranger Doug Hamilton here puts together charts for a collection of musicians culled from the Armed Forces bands (Army Blues, Airmen of Note, Navy Commodores). The music itself is more of a throwback compared to much of what's being created for contemporary big bands, owing a fair bit to Stan Kenton's sound and a simpler, cleaner approach than many. The compositions hail in roughly equal measure from the classic songbook, the post-bop players (Bill Evans, Freddie Hubbard, Sonny Rollins), and Hamilton himself. In the arrangements, though, something starts to fall flat. There's a touch of some of the Gil Evans aesthetic in the playing from time to time in tight parallel lines and ambient horn backings, but by and large the music seems somewhat stale. The performers are all highly capable, and indeed show off some outstanding chops when left to their solos. However, when the players are combined together as a ten-piece band, the sound is less energetic, almost as though restrained by something beyond their control. Nothing ever quite breaks out from the background; nothing quite shakes up the melodies. Given the excellent musicians, though, the album makes for a nice piece of ambient background music. ~ Adam Greenberg

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 805552204520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item