Luther Allison Where Have You Been? Live in Montreux 1976-1994

Where Have You Been? Live in Montreux 1976-1994
13 ratings
Price: $15.29
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y8DV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 20, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Ruf

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 2/97, p.55
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...he evokes dramatic and believable moods with his ravaged singing and sweltering guitar lines on seven originals and five standards. Allison's reevaluation of Willie Dixon's 'Same Thing' is stunning."


  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Gamblers Blues
  • 3.Sweet Home Chicago
  • 4.Same Thing
  • 5.Little Red Rooster
  • 6.Sky Is Crying
  • 7.Back Down South
  • 8.Memories
  • 9.Spontaneous Improvisation
  • 10.Bad News Is Coming
  • 11.Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
  • 12.Bad Love
  • 13.Audience

Product Description:

Recorded live in Montreux, Switzerland between 1976 and 1994.
Where Have You Been? Live in Montreux 1976-1994 features the exciting blues guitarist/singer Luther Allison on selections taken from four appearances at the Montreux Jazz Festival. Although the title says 1974-1994, the earliest numbers are actually from 1976, and these are the most memorable cuts on the CD. Even when sticking to cover tunes throughout the powerhouse performance (such as "Sweet Home Chicago" and "Little Red Rooster"), Allison plays with such enthusiasm and ferocity that he sounds as if he wrote the songs himself. Among the other highlights, Allison is heard on his 1983 set closer "Sky Is Crying," shouting out a Memphis soul-type ballad ("Memories") in 1984 and sounding remarkably close to B.B. King at times during 1994's "Bad Love" (which has background riffs from the Memphis Horns). This is a strong (and easily recommended) all-around overview that can serve as a perfect introduction to the talented Luther Allison. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Luther Allison

Product Info

  • UPC: 710347100829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)