Man Kingdom of Noise

Kingdom of Noise
Price: $22.37
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  FWHX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 8, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: United States Dist


  • 1.Shadow of the Hand
  • 2.Steal the World
  • 3.Iceflowers
  • 4.Russian Roulette
  • 5.Kingdom of Noise
  • 6.Standing in the Rain
  • 7.Speak
  • 8.Chuffin' Like a Muffin
  • 9.Dissolve into Despair

Product Description:

Personnel: Martin Ace (vocals); Allan Murdoch (guitar); Phil Ryan (keyboards); Bob Richards (drums, percussion, background vocals); Ren‚ Robrahn (drums).
Recording information: Solar Sound, Blackwood, Wales; Tonstudio, Holstein, Germany.
It might have been recorded in 2008, but from the opening twang of "Shadow of the Hand," Kingdom of Noise sounds like it could have been cut at any point during Man's years of greatest power, a slow burning blues that rides a riff not a million miles from "Walk This Way," but bent in such different directions that the song's eventual shift into harmonic pop comes as no shock at all. Which is exactly what you expected from Man back then, and it's great that they can still deliver it. The band's first album since 2006's Diamonds and Coal, and the last to be recorded with George Jones and Bob Richards, Kingdom of Noise does steer clear of the epics that were the band's original calling card -- the jumpy "Russian Roulette" is the longest thing in sight, at a shade under eight minutes. But Martin Ace has such a strong hand at the tiller that even brevity packs an epic quality, while there's a looseness to the overall sound that seems to place the band smack bang in your living room. The title track, all brushes and whispers, and a gently tinkling piano, is especially effective, while the singalong swagger of "Standing in the Rain" carves out what has to be a new concert classic. Indeed, Kingdom of Noise could well rank up there with any of our old favorite Man albums, and it's better than a few of them, as well. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Man

Product Info

  • UPC: 604388728022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm