Steve Winwood Chronicles

22 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  Y8JJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Island


  • Buy for $1.291.Wake Me Up On Judgement Day
  • Buy for $1.292.When You See A Chance
  • Buy for $0.993.Vacant Chair
  • Buy for $0.994.Help Me Angel (extended remix)
  • Buy for $1.295.My Love's Leavin'
  • Buy for $1.296.Valerie (extended remix)
  • Buy for $1.297.Arc Of A Diver
  • Buy for $1.298.Higher Love
  • Buy for $1.299.Spanish Dancer
  • Buy for $0.9910.Talking Back To The Night (extended remix)

Product Description:

This contains all Steve Winwood solo material (no Traffic, Blind Faith, etc.)
Personnel: Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards).
Audio Remixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
Steve Winwood's Chronicles presents an extremely brief overview of his material, beginning with Arc of a Diver and including tracks from 1982's Talking Back to the Night and 1986's Back in the High Life release. While songs such as "Higher Love," "While You See a Chance," and "Talking Back to the Night" are surely give-ins, the collection suffers from the absence of "Freedom Overspill," "The Finer Things," and "Back in the High Life Again," which were all Top 20 hits for Winwood throughout 1987. "Vacant Chair" and "Help Me Angel" are mediocre efforts, but the remixed version of "Valerie," which was originally recorded on Talking Back to the Night, is indeed one of this set's highlights. For anyone who isn't familiar with Winwood's sound or style from a solo point of view, these ten tracks will most definitely suffice, but to be regarded as a collection, Chronicles is still a little thin. Also, the parent albums from which these songs originate are excellent on their own, which makes Chronicles that much more dispensable. As a quick listen, this album stands up fairly well, but for those who prefer the "in depth," there's always the four-CD retrospective entitled The Finer Things, which focuses on Winwood's solo career in greater detail, but also includes some of his work from Traffic, the Spencer Davis Group, and Blind Faith. ~ Mike DeGagne

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Steve Winwood

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 101,691
  • UPC: 042284236423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)