Ralph Sutton At St. George Church (Live) (2-CD)

At St. George Church (Live) (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $15.84
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HEGX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Arbors Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction by Alyn Shipton
  • Buy for $0.992.Tea For Two
  • Buy for $0.993.Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Buy for $0.994.Love Lies
  • 5.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 6.Old Folks / Cottage For Sale / 'Taint So, Honey, 'Taint So
  • Buy for $0.997.Viper's Drag
  • Buy for $0.998.Sophisticated Lady / Ring Dem Bells

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction by Alyn Shipton
  • Buy for $0.992.Morning Air
  • Buy for $0.993.Ralph's Story About Morning Air
  • Buy for $0.994.Echo of Spring
  • Buy for $0.995.Ralph Talks About Willie the Lion
  • Buy for $0.996.Dinah
  • Buy for $0.997.When I Grow Too Old to Dream
  • 8.The Jitterbug Waltz / Say Yes / You're Slightly Less Than Wonderful / The Ladies Who Sing With And Band
  • Buy for $0.999.Cabin In The Sky / Taking A Chance On Love / Old Fashioned Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.Eye Opener
  • Buy for $0.9911.St. Louis Blues

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Alyn Shipton.
Recording information: BBC Radio 3, St. George's (02/25/1992); Brandon Hill (02/25/1992); Bristol, England (02/25/1992).
Photographer: Derek Drescher.
Ralph Sutton was at the top of his game for this 1992 solo concert recorded at St. George Church in Bristol, England, for a BBC Radio 3 broadcast. Encouraged by an instrument that Sutton described as "the best damn piano I ever played," acoustically perfect surroundings, and a quiet and appreciative audience, the veteran stride pianist's 90-plus-minute set is full of musical treasures that he had played for decades, including "Tea for Two," "Ain't Misbehavin'," "Eye Opener," and "St. Louis Blues." Sutton occasionally takes time to share his memories of the composers, sharing anecdotes about Willard Robison (represented by the fine medley of "Old Folks/Cottage for Sale/'Tain't So, Honey, 'Tain't So") and Willie "The Lion" Smith ("Morning Air" and "Echo of Spring"), as well as kidding the audience about the meaning of the title to Fats Waller's "Viper's Drag." Writer/broadcaster Alyn Shipton MCed both the performance and its radio encores, while he also contributed the insightful liner notes to what should be considered an essential two-CD set for any fan of stride piano. ~ Ken Dryden
Arbors Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ralph Sutton

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,308
  • UPC: 780941133622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)