The Who The Who Sell Out

The Who Sell Out
137 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HEGK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: MCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.124
Ranked #113 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[I]t was a send-up of consumer culture, and the band's first stab at a concept album."
Rolling Stone - 10/28/99, p.107
4.5 stars out of 5 - "...SELL OUT is the most successful concept album ever...To hear these 13 tracks is to be transported to the wistful, alternatingly painful and joyous territory that was the Who's...adolescence."
Melody Maker - 7/22/95, p.36
Bloody Essential - "...a masterpiece. A glorious celebration of pop as useless commodity and a commercially corrupted art crosses art-school intelligence with pop flash with neither being cheapened or degraded, and is, as such, a stupendous achievement..."
Q (Magazine) - p.112
4 stars out of 5 -- "Revisiting it now, you can hear a hint of the monolithic rock that would make The Who a stadium act in the '70s, and the knowing humour that would inspire the best of such Britpop disciples as Pulp and Blur."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.117
4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]hat truly defines SELL OUT is its deference to the well-rehearsed language of pop. Kinks-like character vignettes and PET SOUNDS-parroting textures are the dominant influences."
NME (Magazine) - 7/22/95, p.49
9 (out of 10) - "...Townshend finally free of shackles....a stream of brittle, spangly pop songs...which are simply otherworldly....Like all truly great albums, SELL OUT isn't overrated. It's simply that you might not be ready for it yet."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.87
4 stars out of 5 -- "'I Can See For Miles' was the powerhouse....'I Can't Reach You' and 'Rael' both strayed beyond the previous template of the accepted notions of pop, rich in motifs that would return more fully-formed on TOMMY."
Uncut (magazine)
5 stars out of 5 -- "[A]s this package joyously proves, they never made anything more entertaining or endearing."


  • Buy for $0.991.Armenia City In The Sky
  • Buy for $0.992.Heinz Baked Beans
  • Buy for $0.993.Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand
  • Buy for $0.994.Odorono
  • Buy for $0.995.Tattoo
  • Buy for $0.996.Our Love Was
  • Buy for $1.297.I Can See For Miles
  • Buy for $0.998.I Can't Reach You
  • Buy for $0.999.Medac
  • Buy for $0.9910.Relax
  • Buy for $0.9911.Silas Stingy
  • Buy for $0.9912.Sunrise
  • Buy for $0.9913.Rael 1
  • Buy for $0.9914.Rael 2
  • Buy for $0.9915.Glittering Girl - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Melancholia
  • Buy for $0.9917.Someone's Coming
  • Buy for $0.9918.Jaguar
  • Buy for $0.9919.Early Morning Cold Taxi
  • Buy for $0.9920.Hall Of The Mountain King
  • Buy for $0.9921.Girl's Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9922.Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand - (Alternate Version)
  • Buy for $0.9923.Glow Girl

Product Description:

This 1995 reissue of THE WHO SELL OUT includes songs and jingles not available on the original version.
The Who: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano); John Entwistle (vocals, bass); Roger Daltrey (vocals); Keith Moon (drums).
Additional personnel: Al Kooper (organ).
Producer: Kit Lambert.
Reissue producer: Jon Astley.
Recorded in 1967 & 1968.
Originally released on Track (612002/613002). Released in the U.S. on Decca (4950/74950) in 1968.
Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.
Personnel: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Roger Daltrey (vocals, harmonica); John Entwistle (vocals, trumpet, keyboards, bass guitar); Keith Moon (vocals, drums); Al Kooper (organ).
Audio Remasterers: Jon Astley; Andy MacPherson.
Audio Remixers: Jon Astley; Andy MacPherson.
Liner Note Author: Dave Marsh .
Recording information: Advision Studios, London, England (05/1967-11/1967); CBS Studios, London, England (05/1967-11/1967); Columbia Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (05/1967-11/1967); De Lane Lea Studios, London, England (05/1967-11/1967); Gold Star Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (05/1967-11/1967); IBC Studios, London, England (05/1967-11/1967); Kingsway Studio, London, England (05/1967-11/1967); Talent Masters Studios, New York, NY (05/1967-11/1967).
Photographer: David Montgomery.
Only three albums into its recording career, the Who had already begun to distance itself from its proletarian R&B beginnings. Here, songwriter Pete Townshend follows up on the rock-opera idea he had introduced on A QUICK ONE with the extended, multi-part composition "Rael" and would later expand upon with TOMMY. The band had also begun exploring the form of the concept album. The songs are connected by bits of fake radio commercials and brass fanfares, and there's a little of everything thrown into the mix. All-out rockers like the vengeful "I Can See For Miles" vie for the listener's attention with the romantic declarations of "Our Love Was" and the soft, folky "Maryanne With The Shaky Hand" on this impressively eclectic album.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 137 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Who

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 28,111
  • UPC: 008811126827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)