The Who Odds & Sods

Odds & Sods
51 ratings
Only 9 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.20 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HEG4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: MCA


  • Buy for $0.991.I'm The Face
  • Buy for $0.992.Leaving Here - (previously unreleased, demo version)
  • Buy for $0.993.Baby Don't You Do It - (previously unreleased, demo version)
  • Buy for $1.294.Summertime Blues - (previously unreleased, studio version)
  • Buy for $0.995.Under My Thumb
  • Buy for $0.996.Mary-Anne With The Shaky Hand - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.997.My Way - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.998.Faith In Something Bigger
  • Buy for $0.999.Glow Girl
  • Buy for $0.9910.Little Billy
  • Buy for $0.9911.Young Man Blues - (studio version)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Cousin Kevin Model Child - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Love Ain't For Keepin' - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Time Is Passing - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Pure And Easy
  • Buy for $0.9916.Too Much Of Anything
  • Buy for $1.2917.Long Live Rock
  • Buy for $0.9918.Put The Money Down
  • Buy for $0.9919.We Close Tonight - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9920.Postcard
  • Buy for $0.9921.Now I'm A Farmer
  • Buy for $0.9922.Water
  • Buy for $0.9923.Naked Eye

Product Description:

ODDS AND SODS is a collection of outtakes and rarities from the 1960s through the early '70s, including "I'm The Face," recorded by The Who when they called themselves The High Numbers.
Originally released on MCA (2126) .
The Who: John Entwistle (bass instrument, background vocals); Keith Moon , Pete Townshend (background vocals); Roger Daltrey.
Personnel: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer); John Entwistle (vocals, brass, bass guitar); Keith Moon (vocals, drums); Roger Daltrey (vocals).
Additional personnel: Leslie West (guitar); Al Kooper (organ).
Audio Remixer: Andy MacPherson.
Liner Note Authors: Pete Townshend; Chris Charlesworth.
Recording information: CBS Studios (06/1964); CBS Studios, London, England (06/1964); De Lane Lea Studios, London, England (06/1964); De Lane Sea Studios (06/1964); Eel Pie Sound Studios, England (06/1964); Fontana Studios, England (06/1964); IBC Studios, England (06/1964); Olympic Studios, England (06/1964); Pye Studios, London, England (06/1964); Ramport Studios, England (06/1964).
Photographer: Graham Hughes.
ODDS AND SODS stands out a bit in the Who canon. The aptly titled 1974 collection features songs that, for one reason or another, didn't end up on their initial recordings. It's a mixed bag to be sure, one that includes pre-Who numbers like "I'm the Face," introspective and religious-themed pop ("Too Much of Anything," "Faith in Something Bigger"), and some inspired goofiness like the anti-smoking "Little Billy." Unlike a lot of out-takes collections, there are no clinkers here, and there are several gems.
"Pure and Easy," from the aborted "Lighthouse" project, ranks with any of the great melodies Pete Townshend has written. The slowly building "Naked Eye," passionately sung in alternating verses by Daltrey and Townshend, ebbs and flows to an explosive climax. The most familiar tune here is probably "Long Live Rock," whose canny lyrics look back at the band's early days and boast, "We were the first band to vomit in the bar/and find the distance to the stage too far." A quirky collection that grows more appealing as time goes by.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 51 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Who

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,009
  • UPC: 008811171827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)