Sonny Landreth Levee Town (2-CD)

Levee Town (2-CD)
36 ratings
Price: $16.79
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HED3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Landfall

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/27/00, p.121
"...A bona fide guitar hero, he's an incresingly good songwriter..." - Rating: B+
CMJ - 10/30/00, p.21
"...His strongest, most ambitious and cohesive work yet..."
Down Beat - 3/01, p.73
3 out of 5 - "...His blistering slide guitar performance is consistently magnificent..."
Dirty Linen - p.47
"LEVEE TOWN not only spotlights the masterful slide-guitar playing of Mississippi-born and Lafayette, Louisiana-raised Sonny Landreth, but provides a showcase for his storytelling ability in songwriting."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Levee Town
  • Buy for $0.992.This River
  • Buy for $0.993.The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile
  • Buy for $0.994.Love And Glory
  • Buy for $0.995.Broken Hearted Road
  • Buy for $0.996.Spider-Gris
  • Buy for $0.997.Godchild
  • Buy for $0.998.Turning With The Century
  • Buy for $0.999.Z. Rider
  • Buy for $0.9910.Soul Salvation
  • Buy for $0.9911.Angeline
  • Buy for $0.9912.Deep South

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Pedal To Metal
  • Buy for $0.992.For Who We Are (The Night Bird Sings)
  • Buy for $0.993.Old Flame
  • Buy for $0.994.Road A Plenty
  • Buy for $0.995.Fare You Well

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Sonny Landreth (vocals, guitar); Steve Conn (keyboards); David Ranson (bass); Michael Organ (drums); Bonnie Raitt, John Hiatt, Stephen Brown, Michael Doucet, Steve Howard, Danny Kimball, Marce Lacouture, Joe Mouton.
Producers: Mike Post, R.S. Field, Sonny Landreth.
Engineers: Cary Butler, Tony Daigle, Paul Wight.
Recorded at Westwind Studios and Mike Post Productions, Burbank, California; Dockside Studio, Maurice, Louisiana.
LEVEE TOWN was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Recording Package.
This is slide guitar wizard Sonny Landreth's most ambitious work, and true to form it comes with no glossy fanfare (even the packaging is sepia tinted), just straight-ahead, well-crafted songs played with his usual intelligent, heartfelt playing. Like the photos that are easily passed over due to the quiet subtly of the sepia tones, the intricacy of his guitar work can easily be overshadowed by the flash that is inherent in the slide guitar. He takes the time here to do a number of acoustic songs and shows that there is more to him than a loud flash. Give a listen to "Love and Glory," in which he is helped out by Jennifer Warnes and Herb Pedersen doing background vocals, Errol Verret on accordion, and some stunning fiddle work by Michael Doucet. He wrote all the songs except "Angeline," which he co-wrote with Will Jennings, and his sophistication as a storyteller is becoming more fully developed. This is a disc that shows his true maturity as a songwriter. He has a tight band working with him, and he employs his friends, who help him out to his best advantage. There is plenty of straight-ahead high voltage Zydeco here, and there is also the quieter more introspective song. A well realized and balanced piece of work that truly reflects Landreth's Zydeco/Louisiana roots. ~ Bob Gottlieb

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sonny Landreth

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,495
  • UPC: 881626918524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)