Tom Waits Rain Dogs

Rain Dogs
141 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HE9J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Island

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/89
Ranked #21 in Rolling Stone's "100 Best Albums Of The Eighties" survey (November 1989).
Q - 10/92, p.101
5 Stars - Indispensable - "...[Waits has] thrust spiky tendrils out to the hidden corners of the continent and sucked their influences into his own bourbon-soaked worldview..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.77
5 stars out of 5 -- "RAIN DOGS is ambitious and immensely satisfying. All human life is indeed here..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/25/93, p.19
Ranked #21 in NME's list of the '50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s.'
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #70 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'


  • Buy for $0.991.Singapore
  • Buy for $0.992.Clap Hands
  • Buy for $0.993.Cemetery Polka
  • Buy for $1.294.Jockey Full Of Bourbon
  • Buy for $0.995.Tango Till They're Sore
  • Buy for $0.996.Big Black Mariah
  • Buy for $0.997.Diamonds & Gold
  • Buy for $0.998.Hang Down Your Head
  • Buy for $0.999.Time
  • Buy for $0.9910.Rain Dogs
  • Buy for $0.9911.Midtown
  • Buy for $0.9912.Ninth & Hennepin
  • Buy for $1.2913.Gun Street Girl
  • Buy for $0.9914.Union Square
  • Buy for $0.9915.Blind Love
  • Buy for $0.9916.Walking Spanish
  • Buy for $1.2917.Downtown Train
  • Buy for $0.9918.Bride Of A Rain Dog
  • Buy for $0.9919.Anywhere I Lay My Head

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Waits (vocals, guitar, banjo, piano, Farfisa organ, pump organ, harmonium); Keith Richards (vocals, guitar); Chris Spedding, Robert Quine, G.E. Smith, Marc Ribot (guitar); Robert Musso (banjo); Ross Levinson (violins); William Shimmel (accordion); Ralph Carney (clarinet, bass saxophone); John Lurie (alto saxophone); Arno Hecht (tenor saxophone); Crispin Cioe (baritone saxophone); Hollywood Paul Litteral (trumpet); Bob Funk (trombone); Robert Kilgore (organ); Larry Taylor, Tony Garnier, Greg Cohen (acoustic bass); Tony Levin (bass); Stephen Arvizu, Taylor Hodges, Micky Curry (drums); Robert Previte (percussion, marimba); Michael Blair (percussion, marimba, congas, drums, bowed saw).
Recorded at RCA Studios, Los Angeles, California.
Composer: Tom Waits.
Personnel: Tom Waits (vocals, guitar, harmonium); Keith Richards (guitar, background vocals); Chris Spedding, G.E. Smith, Marc Ribot, Robert Quine (guitar); Robert Musso (banjo); Ross Levinson (violin); William Shimmel (accordion); Arno Hecht (saxophone, tenor horn); Crispin Cioe, John Lune (saxophone); John Lurie (alto saxophone); Ralph Carney (bass saxophone, wind); Paul Litterall (trumpet); Bob Funk (trombone); Robbie Kilgore (organ); Michael Blair (marimba, drums, percussion); Bobby Previte (marimba, percussion); Greg Cohen, Larry Taylor , Tony Garnier (double bass); Mickey Curry, Stephen Hodges (drums).
Recording information: RCA Studios.
Tom Waits discarded his bohemian sage persona with the radical Swordfishtrombones, and this follow-up release synthesized and developed themes from that groundbreaking album. Ever-shifting percussive textures are supported, where applicable, by horns or Farfisa organ and several guest musicians, including Rolling Stone Keith Richards, contribute to its melange. Waits' bourbon-laced voice is as riveting as ever, intoning lyrics that are, at various times, touching, evocative, sly or simply funny. His off-kilter perceptions encompass country, polkas and heart-rending ballads, each of which he expresses with consummate ease. Rain Dogs is yet another strong statement from a highly innovative artist.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 141 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Tom Waits

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,994
  • UPC: 042282638229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)