John Allred Quartet In the Beginning

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ARBO 19115

CD Details

  • Released: October 7, 1996
  • Label: Arbors Records


  • 1.I Got Your Letter
  • 2.Autumn Leaves
  • 3.Eveline
  • 4.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • 5.Koenig's Gig
  • 6.Sweet Clifford
  • 7.Jitterbug Waltz
  • 8.Blues for the Rich
  • 9.A Child Is Born
  • 10.I'm Getting Sentimental over You

Product Description:

Personnel: John Allred (trombone, euphonium); Betty O'Hara (euphonium); Johnny Varro (piano); Ed Metz, Jr. (drums).
Liner Note Author: Louie Bellson.
Recording information: JEL Studio, Newport Beach, CA (09/10/1992-09/11/1992).
This is an impressive first step in the career of trombonist John Allred. The son of trombonist Bill Allred, John has a similar style, based in traditional jazz and swing and sometimes hinting at more modern styles. Accompanied by pianist Johnny Varro, bassist David Stone, and drummer Ed Metz Jr., Allred stretches out on three originals (the blues-with-a-bridge "Blues for Rich" is most memorable) and such standards as "Autumn Leaves," Clifford Brown's "Sweet Clifford," and "I'm Getting Sentimental Over You." Betty O'Hara sits in on double-bell euphonium for "Stompin' at the Savoy." Fun and swinging music. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 130,941
  • UPC: 780941111521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item