Tom Paxton Original Album Series (5-CD)

Original Album Series (5-CD)
1 rating
Only 10 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.28 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2.71 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  Y95Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Warner Bros UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.121
4 stars out of 5 -- "[E]ach record is a reminder of an oft-overlooked talent."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Job of Work
  • 2.A Rumblin' in the Land
  • 3.When Morning Breaks
  • 4.Daily News
  • 5.What Did You Learn in School Today?
  • 6.The Last Thing on My Mind
  • 7.Harper
  • 8.Fare Thee Well, Cisco
  • 9.I Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  • 10.High Sheriff of Hazard
  • 11.My Lady's a Wild, Flying Dove
  • 12.Standing on the Edge of Town
  • 13.I'm Bound for the Mountains and the Sea
  • 14.Goin' to the Zoo
  • 15.Ramblin' Boy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Leaving London
  • 2.Don't You Let Nobody Turn You 'Round
  • 3.My Son, John
  • 4.The King of My Backyard
  • 5.One Time and One Time Only
  • 6.Is This Any Way to Run an Airline?
  • 7.All the Way Home
  • 8.I Followed Her into the West
  • 9.This World Goes 'Round and 'Rond
  • 10.Talking Pop Art
  • 11.When You Get Your Ticket
  • 12.I Believe, I Do
  • 13.Outward Bound

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Jennifer's Rabbit
  • 2.Mr. Blue
  • 3.Victoria Dines Alone
  • 4.The Hooker
  • 5.So Much for Winning
  • 6.Talking Vietnam Pot Luck Blues
  • 7.Clarissa Jones
  • 8.Morning Again
  • 9.A Thousand Years
  • 10.Now That I've Taken My Life

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Bishop Cody's Last Request
  • 2.Wish I Had a Troubadour
  • 3.About the Children
  • 4.I Give You the Morning
  • 5.The Things I Notice Now
  • 6.The Iron Man
  • 7.All Night Long

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Whose Garden Was This
  • 2.Forest Lawn
  • 3.Annie's Going to Sing Her Song
  • 4.Dogs at Midnight
  • 5.Molly Bloom
  • 6.Angeline Is Always Friday
  • 7.Crazy John
  • 8.Cindy's Cryin'
  • 9.I've Got Nothing But Time
  • 10.Saturday Night
  • 11.Uncle Jack
  • 12.Jimmy Newman

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Paxton (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); David Bromberg (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Barry Kornfeld (guitar, banjo, harmonica); Paul Prestopino (guitar); Felix Pappalardi (guitarron); Jim Tyler (banjo); David Grisman (mandocello); Max Pollikoff (violin); Robert Sylvester, Seymour Barab (cello); Jack Bonus (flute, tenor saxophone); Hubert Laws, Hank Freeman (flute); Richard Grando (soprano recorder, soprano saxophone); Johnny Coleb (flugelhorn); David Horowitz (piano, celesta, harpsichord, organ, synthesizer, vibraphone); Paul Harrison (keyboards); Jonathan Raskin, Herb Bushler, John Nagy (electric bass); Paul Dillon, Maurice Baker, Jimmy Madison, Albert Bouchard, Teddy Sommer (drums).
Audio Mixer: Peter K. Siegel.
Liner Note Author: Tom Paxton.
Recording information: A & R Studios, New York, NY; Mastertone Studios, New York, NY.
Photographer: Elliot Landy.
Arranger: Milton Okun.
In many ways a bridge between the late-'50s generation of folksingers like Dave Van Ronk and the early-'60s version posed by innovative songwriters like Bob Dylan and Phil Ochs, Tom Paxton managed to keep his integrity intact through it all, and if he didn't exactly break new ground anywhere, he has always been a careful and thoughtful songwriter. This set brings together five of the six LPs Paxton recorded and released with Elektra Records between 1964 and 1972 (the sixth, New Songs Old Friends, released in 1972, was a retrospective live set), 1964's Ramblin' Boy, 1966's Outward Bound, 1968's Morning Again, 1969's The Things I Notice Now, and 1970's Tom Paxton 6. The end result is an almost complete collection from Paxton's peak middle years, the years when he wrote and recorded most of the songs on which his legacy rests. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Tom Paxton

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227983444
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)