A-ha Scoundrel Days: Deluxe Edition [Import]

Scoundrel Days: Deluxe Edition [Import]
77 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $20.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $3.02 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y945
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 5, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Warner Bros Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.78
4 stars out of 5 -- "Second album SCOUNDREL DAYS shows what high standards a-ha maintained..."


  • 1.Scoundrel Days
  • 2.The Swing of Things
  • 3.I've Been Losing You
  • 4.October
  • 5.Manhattan Skyline
  • 6.Cry Wolf
  • 7.We're Looking For The Whales
  • 8.The Weight of The Wind
  • 9.Maybe, Maybe
  • 10.Soft Rains of April
  • 11.I've Been Losing You - Extended Version
  • 12.Cry Wolf - Extended Version
  • 13.Manhattan Skyline - Extended Version
  • 14.Scoundrel Days - Demo
  • 15.The Swing of Things - Demo #3
  • 16.I've Been Losing You - Octocon Studio Demo
  • 17.October - Demo
  • 18.Manhattan Skyline - Demo
  • 19.Cry Wolf - Demo
  • 20.We're Looking For The Whales - Demo
  • 21.The Weight of The Wind - Demo
  • 22.Maybe, Maybe - Demo
  • 23.Soft Rains of April - Guitar Version
  • 24.Scoundrel Days - Octocon Studio Demo
  • 25.This Alone Is Love - Original Version
  • 26.Days On End - Demo
  • 27.Train of Thought - Live In Croydon
  • 28.I've Been Losing You - Live In Croydon
  • 29.The Blue Sky - Live In Croydon
  • 30.Looking for The Whales - Live In Croydon
  • 31.Cry Wolf - Live In Croydon

Product Description:

Personnel: Morten Harket (vocals); Paul Waaktaar-Savoy (guitar); Magne Furuholmen (keyboards).
Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Kieron Tyler.
Photographer: Knut Bry.
While not quite as strong as the band's debut, Scoundrel Days is still a-ha succeeding as a marketed "pretty boy" band which can connect musically and lyrically as much as any musical sacred cow. The opening two songs alone make for one of the best one-two opening punches around: the tense edge of the title track, featuring one of Morten Harket's soaring vocals during the chorus and a crisp, pristine punch in the music, and "The Swing of Things," a moody, elegant number with a beautiful synth/guitar arrangement (plus some fine drumming courtesy of studio pro Michael Sturgis) and utterly lovelorn lyrical sentiments that balance on the edge of being overheated without quite going over. Although the rest of the disc never quite hits as high as the opening, it comes close more often than not. A definite downturn is the band's occasional attempts to try and prove themselves as a "real" band by rocking out, as on "I've Been Losing You" -- there's really no need for it, and as a result they sound much more "fake," ironically enough. Other songs can perhaps only be explained by the need to translate lyrics -- "We're Looking for the Whales" isn't an environmental anthem, and neither is "Cry Wolf," but both also don't really succeed in using nature as romantic metaphor. When a-ha are on, though, they're on -- "October" snakes along on a cool bass/keyboard arrangement and a whispery vocal from Harket; "Maybe Maybe" is a quirky little pop number that's engagingly goofy; while "Soft Rains of April" captures the band at its most dramatic, with the string synths giving Harket a perfect bed to launch into a lovely vocal, concluding with a sudden, hushed whisper. The '80s may be long gone, but Scoundrel Days makes clear that not everything was bad back then. ~ Ned Raggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 77 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for A-ha

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227979515
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)