Toad the Wet Sprocket P.S.: A Toad Retrospective

P.S.: A Toad Retrospective
47 ratings
Price: $7.19
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.79 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9XXH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Sony


  • Buy for $0.991.P.S. - (new version)
  • Buy for $0.992.Come Down
  • Buy for $1.293.All I Want - (remix)
  • Buy for $1.294.Something's Always Wrong - (edit)
  • Buy for $0.995.Good Intentions
  • Buy for $0.996.Crazy Life
  • Buy for $0.997.Come Back Down
  • Buy for $1.298.Walk On The Ocean
  • Buy for $1.299.Fall Down
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Will Not Take These Things For Granted
  • Buy for $0.9911.Way Away
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jam - (non-album version)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Hold Her Down - (remix)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Whatever I Fear
  • Buy for $0.9915.Eyes Open Wide - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Silo Lullabye - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Additional personnel includes: Rob Taylor (guitar); Van Vinikow, Sid Page, Joel Derovin, Armen Garabedian, Tiffany Hu (violin); James Ross, John Scanton (viola); Peter Lenz, Suzie Katayama, Dane Little (cello); Dave Stone (bass); Frank Machia (programming).
Producers include: Brad Nack, Bruce Winter, Toad The Wet Sprocket, Gavin MacKillop, Marvin Etzioni.
Personnel: Rob Taylor (guitar); John Wittenberg, Tiffany Yi Hu, Eve Sprecher, Mari Tsumura, Dennis Molchan, Bob Sanov, Elizabeth Wilson, Joel Derouin, Sid Page, Brian Leonard, Armen Garabedian, Haim Shtrum (violin); James Ross , John Scanlon (viola); Suzie Katayama (cello).
Audio Mixers: David Vaught; Gavin MacKillop; Paul DuGre; Andy Wallace; Tom Lord-Alge.
Audio Remixer: Michael Brauer.
Photographers: Dana Tynan; Danny Clinch.
Arranger: Van Dyke Parks.
Toad came to prominence in the early-'90s, heavily influenced by the jangly alt-rock sound of early R.E.M. In retrospect, the band can be seen as something of a prototype for the alternative-tinged folk-rock renaissance that occured later in the decade with the Counting Crows and lesser groups like Tonic and Third Eye Blind. Toad The Wet Sprocket represented the friendliest possible face of '90s alt-rock, its sound full of feathery harmonies and sunny melodies.
The more pastoral side of the group's sound is exemplified by the breezy "Walk on the Ocean," with its acoustic strumming and languid fretless bass. Contrary to popular myth however, Toad was always capable of shading its style with subtle darkness. "Hold Her Down" (presented here in a remixed version) is an unsettling tale of sexual abuse, and "Fall Down" is a terse, angular rocker. "All I Want" is Toad at its best, a transcendent midtempo tune full of achingly beautiful harmonies, soulful lyricism, and a gentle thoughtfulness clearly at odds with the contemporaneous grunge bands to which Toad existed as a viable alternative.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Toad the Wet Sprocket

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646968420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)