The Stranglers La Folie

La Folie
14 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  H38V
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 20, 2001
  • Label: Caroline

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/01, p.135
3 stars out of 5 - "...Restored some faith thanks to 'Golden Brown' and the 6-minute title track...crooned in French...for a while they were filthy and fantastic..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 8/02, p.61
"...This mostly diverting, occasionally inspired colleciton of patented Stranglers pop salvaged the bands career..."


  • 1.Non Stop
  • 2.Everybody Loves You When You're Dead
  • 3.Tramp
  • 4.Let Me Introduce You to the Family
  • 5.Ain't Nothin' to It
  • 6.The Men They Love to Hate
  • 7.Pin Up
  • 8.It Only Takes Two to Tango
  • 9.Golden Brown
  • 10.How to Find True Love and Happiness in the Present Day
  • 11.Folie, La - (French)
  • 12.Cruel Garden
  • 13.Cocktail Nubiles
  • 14.Vietnamerica
  • 15.Love 30
  • 16.You Hold the Key to My Love in Your Hands
  • 17.Strange Little Girl

Product Description:

LA FOLIE brings together a total of 17 remastered tracks from the prolific and musically diverse British group The Stranglers.
This import includes the bonus cuts "Cruel Garden," "Cocktail Nubiles," "Vietnamerica," "Love 30," You Hold The Key To My Love In Your Hands," and "Strange Little Girl," as well as new album art, thorough band info, and rare photography.
Unknown Contributor Role: Steve Woof.
La Folie is a welcome album in the Stranglers' oeuvre, mainly a collection of tight, punchy songs that often suggest the forthright approach of American new wave bands. With one exception, the songs are shorter and more pointed, harking back to the comparative conciseness of some of the tunes on the band's first two albums, Rattus Norvegicus and No More Heroes, though acidic lyrics still predominate. "Non-Stop" is a typical example, featuring a half-spoken vocal that suggests Lou Reed, a Cars-influenced organ sound, and a bouncy, dance-derived drum beat; this particular song is atypical, however, because it employs a blues-oriented progression. An interesting excursion is encountered in the song "Golden Brown," a subdued, jazz-influenced number with purring vocals, a coolly executed synthesizer/harpsichord backing texture, and a periodically stumbling beat. Only the plushly understated title track suggests the sprawl typical of the group's immediately preceding releases. This fine album is well worth purchasing. ~ David Cleary

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Stranglers

Product Info

  • UPC: 724353468828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)