The Standells Riot on Sunset Strip / Rarities

Riot on Sunset Strip / Rarities
10% OFF
Rating 4.0
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $26.99
Your Price: $24.29
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  BGB 113
on most orders of $100
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1993
  • Label: Big Beat Uk


  • 1.Riot on Sunset Strip
  • 2.Sunset Sally - The Mugwumps
  • 3.Sunset Theme [Instrumental] - Sidewalk Sounds
  • 4.Old Country
  • 5.Don't Need Your Lovin' - The Chocolate Watchband
  • 6.Children of the Night
  • 7.Make the Music Pretty - Sidewalk Sounds
  • 8.Get Away From Here
  • 9.Like My Baby
  • 10.Sitting There Standing - The Chocolate Watchband
  • 11.Love Me
  • 12.Batman
  • 13.Our Candidate
  • 14.Boy Who Is Lost
  • 15.It's All in Your Mind
  • 16.School Girl
  • 17.I Hate to Leave You
  • 18.Looking at Tomorrow
  • 19.Don't, Say Nothing at All [Instrumental]
  • 20.Try It [Alternate Vocal]
  • 21.Rari [Extended Version]

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Alec Palao.
Photographers: Frank Zinn; Roger Armstrong.
Unknown Contributor Roles: David Aguilar; Bill Flores; Gary Andrijasevich; Mark Loomis; Tony Valentino; Dick Dodd; Sean Tolby; Larry Tamblyn; Dave Burke .
For this volume in their series of Standells two-fers, label of reissue Big Beat wisely paired two subsidiary releases, the soundtrack of the 1967 film Riot on Sunset Strip (to which the band contributed two songs) and a brief rarities compilation. The first leads off with the title track, one of the Standells' brightest moments, then proceeds through nine tracks of low-grade yet occasionally intriguing teen-exploitation fare from a cast including the the Chocolate Watchband and the Sidewalk Sounds, plus a band named the Mugwumps that has nothing to do with the Cass Elliot-affiliated conglomeration. The rarities disc has a few interesting moments from the Standells, including the time-signature shifts of "Love Me" and the Dylanesque ambiguities of "Our Candidate," but as expected, doesn't contribute much to their discography. Definitely a collector's release, but general garage fans will want to hear it simply for the period sound and styles. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Standells

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 112,644
  • UPC: 029667411325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item