The Spencer Davis Group Time Seller (CD + CD-ROM)

Time Seller (CD + CD-ROM)
Price: $14.38
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  Y9R2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Cleopatra


  • 1.With Their New Face On
  • 2.Mr. Second Class
  • 3.Alec in Transit Land
  • 4.Sanity Inspector
  • 5.Feel Your Way
  • 6.Morning Sun
  • 7.Moonshine
  • 8.Don't Want You No More
  • 9.Time Seller
  • 10.Stop Me, I'm Falling

Product Description:

This edition of WITH THEIR NEW FACE ON includes an Enhanced bonus disc containing a 1967 documentary about the Spencer Davis Group.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
TIME SELLER contains WITH THEIR NEW FACE ON (1967) plus documentary CD-ROM.
The Spencer Davis Group: Eddie Hardin, Phil Sawyer, Spencer Davis.
Though named Time Seller [Special Edition], this is actually something like an expanded edition of the band's first post-Stevie Winwood album, With Their New Face On. The first disc of this two-CD set consists wholly of With Their New Face On, a not-bad record that nonetheless could not come close to matching the best of what the band had recorded with Winwood in the group, no matter how much some collectors might want to put a different face on that situation. The album veered from fairly decent pop-psychedelia ("With Their New Face On" itself) and rather Traffic-sounding cuts ("Mr. Second Class") to solid blues-rock ("Don't Want You No More," covered by the Allman Brothers) and mundane filler in the same mold. This particular reissue is perhaps more notable for the second disc, a CD-ROM consisting of a 56-minute 1967 documentary film on the group, at the time when the lineup included singer/guitarist Phil Sawyer (who had left the band by the time With Their New Face On came out) and organist Eddie Hardin as replacements for Stevie Winwood and Muff Winwood. There are factors that work against the film being a major enjoyable experience, aside from needing to view the whole thing on your computer screen. Though all the dialogue is in English, the commentary is in German and not subtitled in English (though, conversely, some of the spoken dialogue appears with German subtitles). The scenes in which the bandmembers are shown horsing around, doing photo sessions, and talking business are rather dull. Better is the glimpse of Davis and Sawyer working on a folky tune the band didn't record that year, "Robin Hood," and live footage (including some at the Marquee in London), largely of bluesy songs that were leftovers from the Winwood repertoire. Strangest is the scene of them recording the instrumental track to a tune that sounds much like, though not exactly like, their "I'm a Man" hit; when Sawyer overdubs vocals (which are much like, but hardly exactly like, Winwood's), it turns out to be not "I'm a Man," but a "Great Shakes" soft drink commercial! Super-brief glimpses of Noel Redding and Mick Jagger are also seen in a film of archival interest that never penetrates deeply into the obvious question that hovered over the band at the time: Did the Spencer Davis Group have a future after the departure of Stevie Winwood? ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Spencer Davis Group

Product Info

  • UPC: 741157143027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)