Sonic Youth Confusion Is Sex / Kill Yr. Idols

Confusion Is Sex / Kill Yr. Idols
42 ratings
List Price: $9.98
Price: $8.96
You Save: $1.02 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
sku:  3723F
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 28, 1995
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 6/95, pp.100-101
8 - Very Good - "...stands as the great document of early Sonic Youth. Those wind-chime crazy-tuned guitars still sound like a self-inflicted wound; wanting to be rock'n'roll animals again, Sonic Youth chewed off its leg, i.e. the blues, to get out of the classic rock trap..."
Entertainment Weekly - 3/31/95, p.62
"...CONFUSION IS SEX is [Sonic Youth's] funniest, hardest-rocking, and most underrated album ever..."
- Rating: A-
Q - 5/95, p.132
3 Stars - Good - "'s not full-blooded punk as some might expect but more spacy, eerie, meandering dynamics, rife with atonal tunings and anxious vocals, true to the band's original avant-garde, minimalist influences....the sound of confused, sexy, bratty, novel, experimental, attitude-ridden New York with guitar-knobs on."
Melody Maker - 5/4/96, p.58
"...Traces of The Stooges and The Velvet Underground can be heard....'Inhuman' and 'The World Looks Red' are repetitious Krautrock mantra-drones whose arsequaking rumble is deeply pleasant..."


  • 1.Bad Mood, (She's in A)
  • 2.Protect Me You
  • 3.Freezer Burn / I Wanna Be Your Dog
  • 4.Shaking Hell
  • 5.Inhuman
  • 6.The World Looks Red
  • 7.Confusion Is Next
  • 8.Making the Nature Scene
  • 9.Lee Is Free
  • 10.Kill Yr. Idols
  • 11.Brother James
  • 12.Early American
  • 13.Shaking Hell

Product Description:

Sonic Youth includes: Thurston Moore (vocals guitar); Kim Gordon (vocals, bass); Lee Ranaldo (guitar).
Producers: Sonic Youth, Martin Bisi, John Erskine.
Recorded at Wharton's Studio and live at The Pier, Raleigh, North Carolina in November, 1982; and at Plugg Club, New York, New York in October 1983.
Combining Sonic Youth's first full-length release, 1983's CONFUSION IS SEX, with its followup EP, KILL YR IDOLS, this disc shows the New York noise-guitar quartet at their most uncompromising. Where 1982's self-titled EP sounded timid and too beholden to guitarists Thurston Moore and Lee Renaldo's mentor, composer Glenn Branca, these two releases combine Branca's methods--including bizarre tunings and guitars attacked with screwdrivers, vibrators and other implements.
These techniques are juxtaposed with sloppy punk rock, as demonstrated by the cacophonous opener "She's In A Bad Mood" and a startling deconstruction of the Stooges' "I Wanna Be Your Dog." The mood on KILL YR IDOLS is even darker and more claustrophobic, from the title track's attack on Village Voice critic Robert Christgau to the appropriately-titled "Shaking Hell." Heard in retrospect, it's clear that these two records contain the inspirational seeds for much of the '80s and 90's alternative scene that followed in the wake of Sonic Youth's innovations.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 42 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Sonic Youth

Product Info:

  • UPC: 720642451120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)