Raymond Burke Crescent City Music: St. Louis Blues

Crescent City Music: St. Louis Blues
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36YWY
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 3, 2004
  • Label: Ghb Records


  • 1.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down (And Write Myself a Letter)
  • 2.Big Butter and Egg Man
  • 3.In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree - Raymond Burke, VanAlstyne, Egbert
  • 4.St. Louis Blues - Raymond Burke, Handy, W.C.
  • 5.Over the Waves
  • 6.Blues for Joe
  • 7.Who's Sorry Now?
  • 8.Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home - Raymond Burke, Cannon, Hughie
  • 9.Rose Room
  • 10.Somebody Else Is Taking My Place
  • 11.All the Wrong You've Done to Me
  • 12.Shine
  • 13.Sister Kate
  • 14.Southland Blues
  • 15.Black Snake Blues
  • 16.Just a Little While to Stay Here
  • 17.King Zulu Parade

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Raymond Burke, Louis Cottrell, Chink Martin, Monk Hazel, Jeanette Kimball, Thomas Jefferson, Jack Delaney, Alvin Alcorn.
Personnel: Raymond Burke (clarinet, soprano saxophone); Thomas Jefferson (vocals, trumpet); Blue Lu Barker (vocals); Johnny St. Cyr (guitar); Danny Barker , Edmond Souchon (banjo); Larry Shields (clarinet); Alvin Alcorn (trumpet); Johnny Wiggs (cornet); Emile Christian, Jack Delaney (trombone); Chink Martin, Sherwood Mangiapane (tuba); Jeanette Kimball, Stan Mendelson, Roy Zimmerman (piano); Albert Brunies , Johnny Edwards , Monk Hazel (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Richard Bird.
Liner Note Authors: Al Rose; George H. Buck, Jr.
Recording information: New Orleans, LA (08/1957).
Photographer: Don Perry.
Although New Orleans jazz would make a major comeback in the early '60s with the establishment of Preservation Hall, the music was also well recorded during the previous decade. Some of the more technically skilled players based in New Orleans are featured on this excellent reissue, which has four sessions that include clarinetist Raymond Burke. The first four numbers have trumpeter Thomas Jefferson in prime form both playing and (in two cases) singing. The top-notch sextet also features the Jack Teagarden-influenced trombonist Jack Delaney. The next four numbers have a similar group, except with Alvin Alcorn in Jefferson's place. This is some of Alcorn's best work after leaving the Kid Ory band, particularly his lyrical trumpet playing on "Over the Waves" and "Who's Sorry Now?" Six selections are by "the Dog and His Patients," which is a two-clarinet group with Burke and Harry Shields being joined by a rhythm section with at least two guitarist/banjoists. Bassist Sherwood Mangiapane takes two vocals, pianist Jeanette Kimball has one ("Somebody Else Is Taking My Place"), and Blue Lu Barker is fine on two. The last three numbers showcase a group (led by cornetist Johnny Wiggs) on which Edmond Souchon (on banjo, guitar, and vocals) is pretty prominent. None of the 17 concise selections are throwaways, and on a whole they show how viable the New Orleans jazz scene was in 1957. Highly recommended to fans of the idiom. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247510925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)