George Lewis 1949-1950

Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YAAE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 17, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: American Music Rec.


  • 1.Down by the Riverside [V Talbert]
  • 2.Willie the Weeper [Incomplete]
  • 3.Alexander's Ragtime Band
  • 4.San
  • 5.Rose Leaf Rag
  • 6.Mama Don't Allow [V Talbert]
  • 7.High Society
  • 8.Milneberg Joys
  • 9.Bugle Boy March
  • 10.Savoy Blues
  • 11.Runnin' Wild
  • 12.Bye 'N Bye [V Talbert]
  • 13.Royal Garden Blues
  • 14.Willie the Weeper

Product Description:

Personnel: George Lewis (clarinet); Laurence Marrero (banjo); Elmer "Coo Coo" Talbert, Kid Howard, Percy Humphrey (trumpet); Jim Robinson (trombone); Alton Purnell (piano); Joe Watkins (drums).
Liner Note Authors: George H. Buck, Jr.; Barry Martyn.
Recording information: Parisian Room, New Orleans, LA (08/15/1949-09/30/1950).
Clarinetist George Lewis and trumpeter Elmer Talbert first worked together as members of drummer Arnold DePass' Olympia Brass Band back in 1929 on the streets of New Orleans, LA. Talbert gigged and recorded regularly with Lewis during the years 1949-1950, blowing his horn and singing the words to old-time melodies with an earthy passion that sometimes rose to crescendos of thunderous gruffness. In 2007, American Music sewed together rare recordings of the George Lewis band with Elmer Talbert recorded at six different locations, including the Parisian Room at 116 Royal Street, a recording studio on Rampart Street, and WDSU radio's broadcasting facility, where the band entertained listeners on the Dixieland Jambake program. Talbert uses his voice on "Down by the Riverside," "Mama Don't Allow," and "Bye and Bye." These uncommon recordings have been carefully remastered and will warm the hearts of all who enjoy straightforward traditional New Orleans jazz without any frills. Further evidence of the Lewis/Talbert working friendship has been made available on American Music's At Herbert Otto's Party (1949) and Storyville's Jam Sessions. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for George Lewis

Product Info

  • UPC: 762247103820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)