Simple Minds The Best of Simple Minds (2-CD)

The Best of Simple Minds (2-CD)
36 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $18.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.73 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $3.25 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YA7G
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 12/01, p.114
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...They made some cracking records..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Don't You (Forget About Me)
  • 2.Promised You a Miracle
  • 3.Waterfront
  • 4.Alive and Kicking
  • 5.Glittering Prize
  • 6.All the Things She Said
  • 7.Sanctify Yourself
  • 8.Someone Somewhere (In Summertime)
  • 9.Ghostdancing
  • 10.Up on the Catwalk
  • 11.Speed Your Love to Me
  • 12.Theme For Great Cities
  • 13.Love Song
  • 14.The American
  • 15.Sweat in Bullet
  • 16.Life in a Day
  • 17.I Travel

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Let There Be Love
  • 2.This Is Your Land
  • 3.Kick It In
  • 4.Let It All Come Down
  • 5.See the Lights
  • 6.Stand by Love
  • 7.Real Life
  • 8.She's a River
  • 9.Hypnotised
  • 10.Glitterball
  • 11.War Babies
  • 12.Mandela Day
  • 13.Biko
  • 14.Belfast Child
  • 15.Real Life, The (Raven Maize)

Product Description:

Simple Minds include: Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill.
Additional personnel: Raven Maize.
Producers include: Keith Forsey, Peter Walsh, Steve Lillywhite, Bob Clearmountain, Jimmy Iovine.
Includes liner notes by Billy Sloan.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Over the course of two discs, THE BEST OF SIMPLE MINDS chronicles all the phases of the Scottish band's eclectic career. They began as a gritty young post-punk outfit in the late 1970s. But by the turn of the decade, they had incorporated a precocious mix of punk, dance beats, and synthesizers, for a sound that helped create the template for much of what followed in UK pop for the next several years. This golden age of the group is represented by percolating, synth-laced tunes such as "I Travel" and "Sweat in Bullet."
By the mid-'80s, Simple Minds had become worldwide stars by expanding their sound to stadium size, a la U2 or Peter Gabriel. Epitomized by "Alive and Kicking" and "Promised You a Miracle," this period is the one with which casual observers most frequently associate the band. The collection continues further still, following Simple Minds into more organic-sounding territory, during a phase where they'd earned their stripes as elder rock statesmen. From edgy punks to gilded popsters, Simple Minds are comprehensively captured on this collection.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Simple Minds

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,806
  • UPC: 724381125724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)