The Classic Prestige Sessions 1951-1956 (2-CD)

The Classic Prestige Sessions 1951-1956 (2-CD)
3 ratings
15 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  D6V7
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Prestige

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Morpheus
  • Buy for $0.992.Down
  • Buy for $0.993.Blue Room [Take 1]
  • Buy for $0.994.Blue Room [Take 2]
  • Buy for $0.995.Whispering
  • Buy for $0.996.I Know
  • Buy for $0.997.Conception
  • Buy for $0.998.Out of the Blue
  • Buy for $0.999.Denial
  • 10.Bluing
  • 11.Dig
  • Buy for $0.9912.My Old Flame
  • Buy for $0.9913.It's Only a Paper Moon

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Compulsion
  • 2.The Serpent's Tooth [Take 1]
  • Buy for $0.993.The Serpent's Tooth [Take 2]
  • 4.'Round Midnight
  • Buy for $0.995.Airegin
  • Buy for $0.996.Oleo
  • Buy for $0.997.But Not for Me [Take 1]
  • Buy for $0.998.But Not for Me [Take 2]
  • Buy for $1.299.Doxy
  • Buy for $0.9910.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • Buy for $0.9911.No Line
  • Buy for $0.9912.Vierd Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet, piano); Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Sonny Rollins, Charlie Parker (tenor saxophone); Bennie Green (trombone); John G. Lewis, Horace Silver, Tommy Flanagan, Walter Bishop, Jr. (piano); Kenny Clarke, Philly Joe Jones, Roy Haynes, Art Blakey, Art Taylor (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Ira Gitler.
Recording information: Apex Studios, New York, NY (01/17/1951-03/16/1956); Van Gelder Studio (01/17/1951-03/16/1956); WOR Studio, New York, NY (01/17/1951-03/16/1956).
Photographers: Burt Goldblatt; Bob Parent.
THE CLASSIC PRESTIGE SESSIONS 1951-1956 collects all of the sides recorded by trumpeter Miles Davis and tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins for Prestige during their time together as young players in New York City. Both musicians were just past their formative years during this period, having broken free from the heavy sway of their bop elders--especially alto saxophonist Charlie Parker, who appears here in several classic cuts originally released on COLLECTOR'S ITEMS. Both Davis and Rollins were expanding the bop mold and beginning to discover their own sound. Davis had already made his mark with the innovative BIRTH OF THE COOL and was further developing his romantic, cerebral minimalism. Similarly, Rollins was quickly becoming the heir to Parker's throne as the most searching and muscular saxophonist on the scene. The dichotomy of their sounds made Davis and Rollins a perfect rub as jazz partners and these recordings helped foreshadow and define such future jazz movements as hard bop, post-bop, and even free jazz. Included here are such stellar and classic tracks as "Dig," "Oleo," "Down," "The Serpent's Tooth," "Airegin," "Doxy," and "Vierd Blues"." Although all of these recordings are available elsewhere on the original albums, Davis and Rollins' relationship was an incredibly fertile one and it is great to have all of it compiled together.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Miles Davis

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 117,858
  • UPC: 888072314610
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)