The Rolling Stones Jump Back: The Best of the Rolling Stones 1971-1993

Jump Back: The Best of the Rolling Stones
98 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.72 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.26 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YAJ5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 24, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: UMVD Labels

Entertainment Reviews:

Q (Magazine) - p.125
5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's home to both transatlantic hits [and] undervalued singles....Indispensable music."


  • 1.Start Me Up
  • 2.Brown Sugar
  • 3.Harlem Shuffle
  • 4.It's Only Rock 'N Roll (But I Like It)
  • 5.Mixed Emotions
  • 6.Angie
  • 7.Tumbling Dice
  • 8.Fool to Cry
  • 9.Rock and a Hard Place
  • 10.Miss You
  • 11.Hot Stuff
  • 12.Emotional Rescue
  • 13.Respectable
  • 14.Beast of Burden
  • 15.Waiting on a Friend
  • 16.Wild Horses
  • 17.Bitch
  • 18.Undercover of the Night

Product Description:

Personnel: Keith Richards (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Ron Wood, Roy Wood Jr. (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Mick Jagger (vocals, guitar, percussion); Bobby Womack (vocals); Mike Taylor (guitar, slide guitar, bass instrument); M. Taylor, Mick Taylor (guitar, slide guitar); Harvey Mandel, Wayne Perkins (guitar); Sugar Blue (harp, harmonica); Bobby Keys (saxophone, alto saxophone); Bobby Keyes, Mel Collins (saxophone); Jim Price (trumpet); The Kick Horns (brass); Ian Stewart (piano, electric piano); Chuck Leavell (piano, organ, keyboards); Billy Preston (piano, keyboards); Nicky Hopkins (piano, string synthesizer); Jimmy Dickinson (piano); Ian McLagan (electric piano); Matt Clifford (keyboards); Bill Wyman (bass instrument); C. Watts, Charlie Watts (drums); Louis Jardine, Jimmy Miller , Sly Dunbar (percussion); Clydie King, Vanetta Field, Lisa Fisher, Sarah Dash, Bernard Fowler (background vocals).
Recording information: Air Studios, Montserrat (1971-1989); Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas (1971-1989); Dynamic Sound Studios, Ki (1971-1989); Muscle Shoals Sound Studio, AL (1971-1989); Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany (1971-1989); Olympic Studios, London, England (1971-1989); Pathe Marconi Studios, Paris, France (1971-1989); Rolling Stones Mobile (1971-1989); Ronnie Wood's House, Richmond (1971-1989); Ronnie's Wood House, Richmond (1971-1989).
Photographers: Roger Bamber; Rex Features; Ebet Roberts; Mike Daines; David Redfern.
JUMP BACK pulls together the Rolling Stones' biggest hits from 1971's STICKY FINGERS right through to 1989's STEEL WHEELS. Although the non-chronological sequencing can be disorienting (the set kicks off with 1981's "Start Me Up," then immediately rewinds 10 years to the 71 classic "Brown Sugar"), the sheer quality and comprehensiveness of the disc proves the band was still a powerful force after the '60s ended.
The strongest material here is from the early '70s, with standouts like the gorgeous "Wild Horses," the anthemic "It's Only Rock 'N Roll," and "Bitch," one of the Stones' best-ever full-tilt rockers. As always, Mick, Keith, and company ride some funky grooves, too, especially on the disco-flavored "Hot Stuff" and "Miss You" (with its irresistible falsetto refrain). Of course, there are also good tunes from the '80s, including the wistful "Waiting on a Friend," a strong cover of Bob & Earl's 1964 hit "Harlem Shuffle," and 1989's "Mixed Emotions" (which recalls the group's earlier sound). Only the Stones could release a BEST OF collection comprised of material from the decades following their acclaimed peak years and still make it sound like a rock & roll rulebook.
The Rolling Stones

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 98 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
The Rolling Stones-Jumping Back: 1971-1993 Music Lover: from EUREKA, CA US -- August, 9, 2011

Just sit back and enjoy the music and remember the video's that brought these song's to MTV! A great CD at a great price and the music, timeless!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Rolling Stones

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 22,233
  • UPC: 602527102092
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)