Johnny Rivers The Memphis Sun Recordings

The Memphis Sun Recordings
12 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.60 (4% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QWEX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 14, 2006
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Mystery Train
  • 2.Tryin' To Get To You
  • 3.That's Alright Mama
  • 4.I Forgot To Remember To Forget
  • 5.Boppin' The Blues
  • 6.Honey Don't
  • 7.Big River
  • 8.Matchbox
  • 9.You Win Again
  • 10.Breakup
  • 11.Little Queenie
  • 12.Memphis
  • 13.Why Can't We Communicate
  • 14.If You Don't Want My Love
  • 15.Mountain Of Love
  • 16.Tearin' The Drive-In Down
  • 17.Poor Side Of Town
  • 18.Trying To Live My Life Without You
  • 19.Shelter In The Storm
  • 20.Uphill Peace Of Mind

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Rivers (vocals, acoustic & electric guitar); James Burton (guitar, dobro); Carl Perkins, Albert Lee, David Mansfield, Kal David (guitar); James Lott (slide guitar); Harlan Rogers (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Jason D. Williams (piano); Skip Edwards (keyboards); Rick Chudacoff (acoustic & electric basses); Darrel Cook (bass); Peter Bunetta (drums, percussion); Keith Edwards (drums); Lauri Bono, Phyllis Duncan, Claire Ford-Hopkins (background vocals).
The Memphis Horns: Andrew Love (saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, trombone).
Recorded between October 25 and 27, 1991 at Sun Studios, Memphis, Tennessee.
Includes liner notes by Sam Phillips.
Recorded in 1998, a year or so after LAST TRAIN TO MEMPHIS, which had been Johnny Rivers' first release of new material in over 15 years, THE MEMPHIS SUN RECORDINGS was, as the title indicates, recorded at the legendary Sun Studios in Memphis. The 20 tracks are largely chestnuts from the classic Sun catalogue, from "Mystery Train" (more Elvis than Junior Parker, of course) through the corners of the Elvis and Carl Perkins catalogues, and on into Rivers' more usual covers source, Chuck Berry.
Rivers remakes Berry's "Memphis" again, and "Little Queenie" for possibly the first time, before tackling his own past, redoing his 1965 hit "The Poor Side of Town." The pair of new tracks at the end sound a little like outtakes from LAST TRAIN TO MEMPHIS, but overall, THE MEMPHIS SUN RECORDINGS is a loose, fun tribute to some of Rivers' obvious idols.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Rivers

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742071320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)