Jonathan Richman Action Packed: The Best of Jonathan Richman

Action Packed: The Best of Jonathan Richman
7 ratings
Price: $24.29
List Price: $26.99
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YADS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 5/02, p.116
"...Take a close look, and you'll find some of Richman's most affecting work here...Recommended for anyone who (a) has children, or (b) was once a child."


  • Buy for $0.991.Circle I
  • Buy for $0.992.New Kind of Neighborhood
  • Buy for $0.993.Action Packed
  • Buy for $0.994.Everyday Clothes
  • Buy for $0.995.Fender Stratocaster
  • Buy for $0.996.Closer
  • Buy for $0.997.Reno
  • Buy for $0.998.Since She Started to Ride
  • Buy for $0.999.You're Crazy for Taking the Bus
  • Buy for $0.9910.The Neighbors
  • Buy for $0.9911.The Girl Stands up to Me Now
  • Buy for $0.9912.Cappuccino Bar
  • Buy for $0.9913.When I Say Wife
  • Buy for $0.9914.She Doesn't Laugh at My Jokes
  • Buy for $0.9915.Monologue About Bermuda
  • Buy for $0.9916.Parties in the U.S.A.
  • Buy for $0.9917.I Was Dancing in the Lesbian Bar
  • Buy for $0.9918.Una Fuerza All  (A Higher Power)
  • Buy for $0.9919.The Heart of Saturday Night
  • Buy for $0.9920.Vampire Girl
  • Buy for $0.9921.City Vs. Country
  • Buy for $0.9922.You Must Ask the Heart

Product Description:

Personnel: Jonathan Richman (vocals, guitar, saxophone, percussion); Jonathan Richman; Jody Ross (vocals); Nick Sibley (harmonica, background vocals); Ned Claflin (accordion, organ, background vocals); Jim Washburn (bass instrument); Bobby Lloyd Hicks (drums, percussion, background vocals); John Avila, Scot Woodland (drums, background vocals); Tom Nelson, Ned Wilkinson, Ron Butler (background vocals); Brennan Totten (guitar, background vocals); D. Clinton Thompson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, percussion, background vocals); Tom Brumley (steel guitar); John Girton (saxophone); Josef Marc (piano, drums, background vocals); Joe Terry (piano, background vocals); David Byrd (piano).
Liner Note Authors: Jonathan Richman; Brennan Totten.
Recording information: Bennett House, Grass Valley, CA; Column One Recording, Springfield, MO; J.G. Sounds; Nuggets Studios, Grass Valley, CA.
Photographer: David Mckay.
Jonathan Richman's output over the years has been fairly regular, creating a rather large body of work. The label he maintained the longest relationship with was Rounder, for whom recorded eight albums. These range from the all-Spanish JONATHAN, TE VAS A EMOCIONAR! to the rollicking JONATHAN GOES COUNTRY, on which he was backed by the Skeletons. ACTION PACKED offers a 22-song tour through his decade with Rounder. It's a fine entry point into Richman's incisive yet gentle songwriting, and also an excellent overview for those already familiar with the source albums.
Richman delights in celebrating the world around him ("Cappuccino Bar," "Fender Stratocaster," "Everyday Clothes") and has also created some of the most vividly honest and original looks into the world of relationships ("The Neighbors," "Closer," "When I Say Wife"). The one cover included is the surprising, yet completely appropriate Tom Waits number "The Heart of Saturday Night."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jonathan Richman

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661159624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)