Leon Redbone Sugar (2-CD)

Sugar (2-CD)
8 ratings
14 copies available
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EAXH
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

4 Stars - Excellent
4 Stars - Excellent


  • Buy for $0.991.Ghost of the Saint Louis Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Roll Along Kentucky Moon
  • Buy for $0.993.Right or Wrong
  • Buy for $0.994.Laughin' Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Breeze
  • Buy for $0.996.The Whistling Colonel
  • Buy for $0.997.Sugar
  • Buy for $0.998.Pretty Baby
  • Buy for $0.999.When I Take My Sugar to Tea
  • Buy for $0.9910.What You Want Me to Do
  • Buy for $0.9911.Messin' Around
  • Buy for $0.9912.So, Relax
  • Buy for $0.9913.14th Street Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Leon Redbone (vocals, guitar, banjo, harmonica, whistling); Frank Vignola (guitar); Bob Mastro (mandolin, violin); Cyndi Cashdollar (dobro); Regis Landiorio, Richard Hendrickson (violin); Richard Maximoff (viola); John Reed (cello); Ken Peplowski (clarinet, saxophone); Vince Giordano (bass saxophone); Peter Ecklund (cornet); Chuck Wilson (piccolo); Dan Barrett (trombone); Terry Waldo (piano); Brian Nalepka (accordion, tuba, bass); Arnie Kinsella, Eddie Davis, Giampaolo Biagi (drums, percussion); Hal Shane (background vocals).
Recorded at MRC & Soundtrack Studios, New York, New York.
Personnel: Leon Redbone (vocals, whistling, guitar, banjo, harmonica); Frank Vignola (guitar); Cindy Cashdollar (dobro); Bob Mastro (mandolin, violin); Regis Landiorio, Richard Hendrickson (violin); Richard Maximoff (viola); John Reed (cello); Chuck Wilson (piccolo); Brian Nalepka (accordion, tuba, bass instrument); Ken Peplowski (clarinet, saxophone); Vince Giordano (bass saxophone); Peter Ecklund (cornet); Dan Barrett (trombone); Terry Waldo (piano); Eddie Davis , Arnie Kinsella, Giampaolo Biagi (drums, percussion); Hal Shane (background vocals).
Leon Redbone entered the 1990s with the baker's dozen of selections on Sugar (1991), one of his best overall efforts to date. His unique and unmistakable interpretations of obscure jazz and early popular melodies are augmented by the occasional and equally singular original composition. The tunes are carefully crafted in such a way that they ably augment Redbone's distinct vocals, which vacillate between a gravel-voiced mumble and full-bodied bellow. In keeping with the musical persona he'd established for himself, the arrangements are often a synthesis of the refined jazz stylings of the Quintet of the Hot Club of France, with essential nuggets of traditional American folk, blues and pop. The opening "Ghost of the St. Louis Blues" is the perfect case in point, as the tastefully scored string section caresses the mid-tempo pace. Asleep at the Wheel member Cindy Cashdollar's twangy dobro and Bob Mastro's sweet mandolin frail earmark the rural sleepy waltz "Roll Along Kentucky Moon." Comparatively spry are "Right or Wrong," the title track "Sugar," and a standout cover of "When I Take My Sugar to Tea," which are a rousing mixture of freewheeling ragtime and the playfulness of Django Reinhardt's days in the aforementioned Quintet of the Hot Club of France. Another adeptly executed remake is "Pretty Baby," capturing all the charm of Al Jolson's best-known rendering, yet the artist provides a freshness in this interpretation, making it unquestionably his own. Redbone supplies a few of the album's more memorable sides, such as the jaunty wordless "Whistling Colonel" and the understated and intimate repose of "So, Relax." The closing instrumental "14th Street Blues" is brought to life by the honey toned clarinet of Ken Peplowski, whose tenure in the modern re-creation of the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra is evident by the redolent soul he brings to the performance. Longtime enthusiasts will not be disappointed with Sugar and curious parties will similarly find it a great entr‚e into Redbone's catalog. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Leon Redbone

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,402
  • UPC: 011661323629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)