The Eagles Long Road Out of Eden (2-CD)

Long Road Out of Eden (2-CD)
325 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JKCD 4066
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Eagles Recording Company

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.81
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here is a potent restraint to 'Long Road Out of Eden,' in the bleak, hollow mix of acoustic guitar and electric piano in the verses and the overcast sight of the harmonies."
Entertainment Weekly - p.63
"[A] sleekly enjoyable follow-up to RUN....Sonically and lyrically in sync with the ol' Eagles oeuvre..." -- Grade: B
Uncut - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here's something involving about the languid pace of the whole thing. That the band's ambition is intact is remarkable. That they've made an album that captures the zeitgeist is maybe even more so."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.No More Walks in the Wood
  • Buy for $0.992.How Long
  • Buy for $0.993.Busy Being Fabulous
  • Buy for $0.994.What Do I Do with My Heart
  • Buy for $0.995.Guilty of the Crime
  • Buy for $0.996.I Don't Want to Hear Any More
  • Buy for $0.997.Waiting in the Weeds
  • Buy for $0.998.No More Cloudy Days
  • Buy for $0.999.Fast Company
  • Buy for $0.9910.Do Something
  • Buy for $0.9911.You Are Not Alone

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Long Road Out of Eden
  • 2.I Dreamed There Was No War [Instrumental]
  • 3.Somebody
  • 4.Frail Grasp on the Big Picture
  • 5.Last Good Time in Town
  • 6.I Love to Watch a Woman Dance
  • 7.Business as Usual
  • 8.Center of the Universe
  • 9.It's Your World Now

Product Description:

Eagles: Glenn Frey, Timothy B. Schmit (bass guitar); Don Henley, Joe Walsh .
Personnel: Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Don Henley (vocals, guitar, drums, percussion); Timothy B. Schmit (vocals); Steuart Smith (guitar, mandolin, keyboards); Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar); Al Garth (violin, alto saxophone); Chris Mostert (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Greg Smith , Greg "Frosty" Smith (baritone saxophone); Bill Armstrong (trumpet); Michael Thompson (trombone, keyboards); Richard F.W. Davis, Richard J. Davis (keyboards, programming); Willie Hollis (keyboards); Scott Crago (drums, percussion); Luis Conti, Lenny Castro (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Elliot Scheiner.
Recording information: Doghouse, Los Angeles, CA; Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Luminous Sound, Dallas, TX; Mooselodge Studios, Calabasas, CA; O'Henry Studios, Burbank, CA; Panhandle House, Denton, TX; Samhain Sound, Malibu, CA; Samhan Sound, Malibu, CA; The Doghouse, Los Angeles, CA; The Pan Handle House, Denton, TX.
Photographer: Olaf Heine.
As the first full studio album in 28 years by one of the most successful bands of all time, the Eagles' LONG ROAD OUT OF EDEN was the very definition of the term "highly anticipated." Making it even more newsworthy at the outset was the fact that EDEN was initially available only through the Wal-Mart chain. All this extra-musical publicity may have detracted from the music itself, though; in the end, the album pretty much picks up where the band left off on the new songs they recorded for their 1994 live album HELL FREEZES OVER. It takes their basic country-rock template and gives it a slight production update, resulting in an album that still sounds very much like the group fans know and love, but does not seem stuck in the '70s.
With Don Henley, Joe Walsh, Glenn Frey, and Timothy B. Schmidt all contributing, there's plenty of vintage Eagles feel here, as on the single "How Long," which could have come straight off 1979's THE LONG RUN, but the subtle addition of modern production techniques, not to mention the still-vital compositional powers of the band, keeps things solidly out of nostalgia territory. Perhaps most striking is the degree to which the Eagles, essentially a "rock" band in their heyday, suddenly fit in perfectly with contemporary country. That's not the sound of the Eagles changing--it's just Nashville catching up.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.8
Based on 325 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Eagles

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,717
  • UPC: 698268450028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)