John Prine Live

13 ratings
14 copies available
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  34GHQ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Oh Boy

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/93, p.102
3 Stars - Good - "...Jokes, philosophy and stories aplenty - what more could you want from American national treasures?..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard
  • Buy for $0.992.Six O'Clock News
  • Buy for $0.993.The Oldest Baby in the World
  • Buy for $0.994.Angel from Montgomery
  • Buy for $0.995.Grandpa Was a Carpenter
  • Buy for $0.996.Blue Umbrella
  • Buy for $0.997.Fish and Whistle
  • Buy for $0.998.Sabu Visits the Twin Cities Alone
  • Buy for $0.999.Living in the Future
  • Buy for $0.9910.Illegal Smile
  • Buy for $0.9911.Mexican Home
  • Buy for $0.9912.Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
  • Buy for $0.9913.Accident, The (Things Could Be Worse)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sam Stone
  • Buy for $0.9915.Souvenirs
  • Buy for $0.9916.Aw Heck
  • Buy for $0.9917.Donald and Lydia
  • Buy for $0.9918.That's the Way That the World Goes 'Round
  • Buy for $0.9919.Hello in There

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD.
Personnel: John Prine (vocals, acoustic guitar); Steve Goodman, Bonnie Raitt (vocals, acoustic guitar); Jim Rooney (acoustic guitar); David Bromberg, Philip Donnelly (electric guitar); Stuart Duncan (mandolin); Rachel Peer-Prine, Johnny Lee Schell (electric bass); Kenny Malone (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixers: Hank Meuberger; Jim Rooney; Jim Tullio; Richard Adler .
Recording information: KLRU-TV; The Arie Crown Theater, Chicago, IL; The Cannery, Nashville, TN; The Coach House, San Juan Capistrano, CA.
Originally released as a double album, this 1988 outing presents singer/songwriter John Prine in concert before an enthusiastic audience. Throughout most of the 19-track collection, Prine is armed with only his acoustic guitar, raspy vocals, and charming wit, offering up both off-the-cuff tales and some of his finest songs. The Illinois native is joined by Bonnie Raitt on the gorgeous "Angel of Montgomery," and his longtime friend Steve Goodman sits in on the wistful "Souvenirs," but many of LIVE's best moments feature Prine alone, allowing his remarkable storytelling ability to come to the fore. Highlights include the amiably quirky "Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard," the humorous "Illegal Smile" (here a boisterous sing-along), the moving Vietnam War ballad "Sam Stone," and, of course, the thoughtful closer, "Hello in There," which stands as one of Prine's masterpieces. Although the two-disc GREAT DAYS compilation is the best introduction to Prine's studio material, this excellent album showcases the performer's charming persona in a wonderfully unadorned setting.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for John Prine

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 97,110
  • UPC: 094012000523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)