John Denver Rocky Mountain High

Rocky Mountain High
1 rating
Only 5 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 69726
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 17, 1988
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/26/72, p.56
"..a crisp, muscular album with compelling singing and some of the most powerful acoustic guitar-dominated years.."


  • 1.Rocky Mountain High
  • 2.Mother Nature's Son
  • 3.Paradise
  • 4.For Baby (For Bobbie)
  • 5.Darcy Farrow
  • 6.Prisoners
  • 7.Goodbye Again
  • 8.Season Suite: Summer
  • 9.Season Suite: Fall
  • 10.Season Suite: Winter
  • 11.Season Suite: Late Winter, Early Spring (When Everybody Goes To Mexico)
  • 12.Season Suite: Spring

Product Description:

ROCKY MOUNTAIN HIGH heightened John Denver's profile as one of the key folk singers of the 1970s. The record became the artist's first to hit the Top 10 on the strength of its expansive, memorable title track and an overall sound distinguished by a more fully fleshed band, including backing vocals, fiddle, and lap steel. As opposed to ROCKY MOUNTAIN HIGH's predecessor POEM, PRAYERS AND PROMISES, there is some percussion here as well.
The album is suffused, in lyrical content and its earthy, folky sound, with a feel for open, outdoor spaces (which reflected the singer's growing environmental activism). Even Denver's choices of cover songs, which includes the Beatles' "Mother Nature's Son" and John Prine's "Paradise," feature pastoral imagery, as do his originals "For Baby (For Bobbie)" and the lovely, melancholic "Goodbye Again." The album's closing suite takes the listener on a musical journey from "Summer" to "Spring," and puts a cap on this '70s folk classic.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Denver

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,738
  • UPC: 886976972622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country Tailgate Sale:

Top ranking titles in the Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)