Nirvana With the Lights Out (3-CD Box Set)

With the Lights Out (3-CD Box Set)
270 ratings
Only 9 copies left
Sale: $53.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $52.45 Limited Time Only
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $7.53 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  HG5A
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.154
Included in Rolling Stone's The 10 Best Reissues & Anthologies Of 2004 - "Remember him this way: exploding with invention, fighting the pain and winning."
Spin - p.97
"[M]ostly great....[With tracks] that show the band experimenting in ways they never did on their album releases." - Grade: A
Entertainment Weekly - p.89
"[A] volcanic eruption of Nirvana material....Cobain's early songs burn with thrash-metal energy, bratty humor, and, most of all, ambition." - Grade: A-
Entertainment Weekly - p.184
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he prizes are the full-fledged Nirvana songs that got away....You can't top the naked demo of 'Heart Shaped Box,' which has doomier lyrics and a bent noise-guitar solo."
Uncut - p.134
4 stars out of 5 - "A hardcore fan's wildest dreams fulfilled....It's consistently strong."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.120
3 stars out of 5 - "[F]ascinating is a career-spanning selection of radio broadcasts beginning with an April '87 appearance....LIGHTS offers multiple perspectives on well-known material."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Heartbreaker - (previously unreleased, from 1987)
  • 2.Anorexorcist - (previously unreleased, from 1987)
  • 3.White Lace And Strange - (previously unreleased, from 1987)
  • 4.Help Me I'm Hungry - (previously unreleased, from 1987)
  • 5.Mrs. Butterworth - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 6.If You Must - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 7.Pen Cap Chew - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 8.Downer - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 9.Floyd The Barber - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 10.Rauncholda / Moby Dick - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 11.Beans - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Don't Want It All - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Clean Up Before She Comes - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Polly - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 15.About A Girl - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 16.Blandest - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 17.Dive - (previously unreleased, from 1988)
  • 18.They Hung Him On A Cross - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 19.Grey Goose - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 20.Ain't It A Shame - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 21.Token Eastern Song - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 22.Even In His Youth - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 23.Polly - (previously unreleased, from 1989)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Opinion - (previously unreleased, from 1990)
  • 2.Lithium - (previously unreleased, from 1990)
  • 3.Been A Son - (previously unreleased, from 1990)
  • 4.Sliver - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 5.Where Did You Sleep Last Night - (previously unreleased, from 1989)
  • 6.Pay To Play - (from 1990)
  • 7.Here She Comes Now - (from 1990)
  • 8.Drain You - (previously unreleased, from 1990)
  • 9.Aneurysm - (from 1990)
  • 10.Smells Like Teel Spirit - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 11.Breed - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 12.Verse Chorus Verse - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 13.Old Age - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 14.Endless, Nameless - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 15.Dumb - (previously unreleased, from 1991)
  • 16.D-7 - (previously unreleased, from 1990)
  • 17.Oh The Guilt - (from 1992)
  • 18.Curmudgeon - (from 1992)
  • 19.Return Of The Rat - (from 1992)
  • 20.Smells Like Teen Spirit - (from 1991)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Rape Me - (previously unreleased, acoustic version from 1992)
  • 2.Rape Me - (previously unreleased, electric version from 1992)
  • 3.Scentless Apprentice - (previously unreleased, from 1992)
  • 4.Heart Shaped Box - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 5.I Hate Myself And I Want To Die - (from 1993)
  • 6.Milk It - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 7.Moist Vagina - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 8.Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip - (from 1993)
  • 9.Other Improv, The - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 10.Serve The Servants - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 11.Very Ape - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 12.Pennyroyal Tea - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 13.Marigold - (from 1993)
  • 14.Sappy - (previously unreleased, from 1993)
  • 15.Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam - (previously unreleased, from 1994)
  • 16.Do Re Mi - (previously unreleased, from 1994)
  • 17.You Know You're Right - (previously unreleased, from 1994)
  • 18.All Apologies - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Includes bonus DVD disc and 60-page booklet.
"With The Lights Out" includes a DVD as well as a large booklet with pictures and liner notes.
Nirvana (US): Kurt Cobain (vocals, guitar); Dave Grohl (vocals, drums); Krist Novoselic (bass guitar).
Liner Note Author: Thurston Moore.
Ten years after the death of Kurt Cobain, Nirvana fans finally got what they had been waiting for in the form of 2004's WITH THE LIGHTS OUT, an extensive three-CD/one-DVD box set spanning the deified rock band's career. Part of Nirvana's charm was its gleefully subversive aesthetic, and this trait is heavily featured on Disc One, which begins with a slaughtered version of Led Zeppelin's "Heartbreaker" at the group's first gig in 1987. Distortion and low fidelity reign on most of these songs (including "Anorexorcist", "Pen Cap Chew," and a demo version of "Even in His Youth"), and Cobain probably wouldn't have had it any other way.
Disc Two covers the band's uneasy transition to superstar status and features the crucial addition of drummer Dave Grohl, whose powerhouse percussion worked perfectly with Krist Novoselic's rumbling bass and Cobain's tortured vocals and fiery guitar playing. In addition to Cobain's solo acoustic tracks and demo versions of well-known songs, excellent B-sides and compilation tracks are presented here, including a gorgeous reading of the Velvet Underground's "Here She Comes Now" and a fierce take on Greg Sage's "D-7" that rivals the most intense Nirvana studio tracks. Covering the post-NEVERMIND years, Disc Three features acoustic readings of IN UTERO tunes, along with rarities like the stomping (and rather prophetic) "I Hate Myself and I Want to Die" and the emotive "Sappy." The beautiful booklet and the DVD of archival footage serve to further illuminate Nirvana's legacy, which extends far beyond this well-compiled set.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 270 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Nirvana

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498646649
  • Shipping Weight: 1.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)