White Lunar (2-CD)

White Lunar (2-CD)
7 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  HG4J
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 22, 2009
  • Label: Mute U.S.

Entertainment Reviews:

Q (Magazine) - p.124
3 stars out of 5 -- "[With] scores penned for The Proposition and more that work just fine as stand-alone pieces."
Uncut (magazine)
4 stars out of 5 -- "[Cave has] mastered the subdued, unobtrusive yet sinister piano ripple and the occasional unsettling rumble, gilding them with rare, understated vocals."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Song For Jesse
  • 2.Moving On
  • 3.What Must Be Done
  • 4.Song For Bob
  • 5.Happy Land
  • 6.The Proposition #1
  • 7.Road To Banyon
  • 8.The Rider #2
  • 9.Martha's Dream
  • 10.Gun Thing
  • 11.The Rider Song
  • 12.The Road
  • 13.The Mother
  • 14.The Father
  • 15.The Beach
  • 16.The Journey
  • 17.The Boy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Srey Leak
  • 2.Me Nea
  • 3.Rom
  • 4.Halo
  • 5.Zanstra
  • 6.Black Silk (Suture)
  • 7.Brain Retractor
  • 8.Dandy Brain Cannula
  • 9.Rat's Tooth Forcepts
  • 10.Kerrison's Punch
  • 11.Micro Sucker
  • 12.Window
  • 13.Daedalus
  • 14.Magma
  • 15.Cheata
  • 16.Sorya Market

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Jake Jackson.
Liner Note Authors: Nick Cave; Warren Ellis.
Editor: Jake Jackson.
Given their output, it's certainly tempting to write about the shared aesthetic philosophy of Nick Cave and Warren Ellis as film composers, but that's actually beside the point. In fact, what's most remarkable about White Lunar, the double-disc collaborative retrospective compilation from film scores by the pair, is how utterly "small" and atmospheric the work is, especially considering that three of these films cover very large visual landscapes. Two are Westerns: The Proposition -- which Cave also wrote the screenplay for and set in the Australian Outback -- and The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. The third of these large-landscape movies is The Road, based on the post-apocalyptic novel by Cormac McCarthy. Disc one is comprised of the selections from the scores of these films, while disc two contains music from The Girls of Phnom Penh and The English Surgeon, as well as assorted unissued tracks from the duo's vaults. Each disc is compiled to stand on its own. Disc one does so in a way that is quietly spooky and powerful despite the minimal approach of the few instruments employed: violin, piano, bass, guitars, some atmospheric keyboards, etc. Whether one has seen the films orchestrated here hardly matters. The aural impressions are of loneliness, solitude, vast stretches of emptiness, and physical as well as emotional desolation. There are a couple of vocal tracks on disc one, mainly the traditional "Happy Land," which was totally rearranged -- as all good folks songs should be -- by Cave, and "The Rider 2," which is vastly different from its instrumental counterpart that's here. This disc alone is worth the purchase price; it stands as a testament to a working method that is based on instinct and careful attention paid to interior space as well as microscopic details in composition and mixing. Disc two is bookended with cues from The Girls of Phnom Penh. The approach here is even more minimal and a shade more dissonant. The use of keyboards is a bit more prevalent but not in an intrusive way. It feels both emotionally distraught and physically foreboding despite the quiet nature of the score. Tracks from the vaults and The English Surgeon are alternated in between, a few from each, then repeated before the disc ends. The vault tunes are little more than bits of ideas, articulated enough so that something else might be built upon them. The music from The English Surgeon, if not more lush, is more melodic and emotionally resonant of melancholy, dread, and even tenderness. Ultimately, this is a fascinating, provocative, and thoroughly enjoyable document on its own, though one would be well advised to pick up the individual scores for the films on disc one as well. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nick Cave

Product Info

  • UPC: 724596941928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)