The Carter Family Can the Circle Be Unbroken?: Country Music's First Family

Can the Circle Be Unbroken?: Country Music's
18 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 69479
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 7/7/00, p.131
"...Spare, spiritual, and unsentimental - a tonic for our times." - Rating: A
CMJ - 6/19/00, p.33
"...[They] drastically changed country music, moving its focus from instrumental to vocals....performed in an old-time gospel harmony style with acoustic guitar..."


  • 1.Can the Circle Be Unbroken [78 Rpm Version]
  • 2.Lulu Walls
  • 3.My Clinch Mountain Home
  • 4.Wildwood Flower
  • 5.Worried Man Blues
  • 6.Keep on the Sunny Side
  • 7.Gospel Ship
  • 8.My Texas Girl
  • 9.Sinking in the Lonesome Sea
  • 10.Cannon Ball Blues
  • 11.I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  • 12.River of Jordan
  • 13.The Storms Are on the Ocean
  • 14.On the Rock Where Moses Stood
  • 15.The Little Black Train
  • 16.Single Girl, Married Girl
  • 17.Kissing Is a Crime
  • 18.Blackie's Gunman
  • 19.My Home Among the Hills
  • 20.Black Jack David

Product Description:

The Carter Family: Maybelle Carter (vocals, guitar); Sara Carter, A.P. Carter (vocals).
Recorded in New York, New York in May 1935 & Chicago, Illinois in October 1940. Includes liner notes by Ed Kahn.
Digitally remastered by David Mitson (Sony Music Studios, Santa Monica, California).
This is part of Legacy's American Milestones series.
CAN THE CIRCLE BE UNBROKEN is subtitled COUNTRY MUSIC'S FIRST FAMILY, a claim so readily apparent it's almost unnecessary. This 20-track compilation doesn't touch on the 1927-'34 recordings that first made the trio famous; instead it collects all 17 songs A.P., Sara, and Maybelle Carter recorded over a single five-day session in May '35 for the ARC label, after they left RCA Victor. (The remaining tracks are from an abortive Columbia session in 1940.) In keeping with the usual label politics of the period, almost all of these tunes are remakes of earlier material, but that doesn't mean they're of lesser quality. Indeed, for those familiar with the older recordings, the newer takes of songs, particularly the title track and "Wildwood Flower," are a revelation. The tempos are measured and relaxed, giving Maybelle's guitar more prominence, and Sara's vocals have dropped appreciably in pitch. Still, this is an album best enjoyed in addition to the previous material, not in place of it.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Carter Family

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,212
  • UPC: 886976947927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country Tailgate Sale:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)