The Box Tops The Best of the Box Tops

The Best of the Box Tops
3 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 69297
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.The Letter
  • 2.Neon Rainbow
  • 3.Happy Times
  • 4.Cry Like a Baby
  • 5.Fields of Clover
  • 6.Choo Choo Train
  • 7.She Shot a Hole in My Soul
  • 8.People Gonna Talk
  • 9.I Met Her in Church
  • 10.Sweet Cream Ladies, Forward March
  • 11.Together
  • 12.I Must Be the Devil
  • 13.Soul Deep
  • 14.I Shall Be Released
  • 15.Happy Song
  • 16.Turn on a Dream
  • 17.I See Only Sunshine
  • 18.You Keep Tightening Up on Me

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Mitchell Cohen.
Recording information: American Recording Studios, Inc., Memphis, TN.
Photographer: Joel Brodsky.
The one thing that lifts the Box Tops out of the pack of bubblegum groups that flooded AM radio in the mid- to late '60s was the blue-eyed Memphis soul voice of the then-teenaged Alex Chilton, and coupled with Dan Penn's deep South production, the group managed two memorable singles, 1967's "The Letter" and 1968's "Cry Like a Baby," along with a couple of decent near-misses, "Neon Rainbow" and "Choo Choo Train." The Box Tops' albums were mostly thrown-together affairs, however, with far more potential than execution, and although Chilton's voice is often a thing to behold, the material tended toward covers or half-realized Dan Penn/Spooner Oldham compositions. This 18-track set collects most of the group's key sides, including all of the above recordings, but the truth is, as long as you have "The Letter" and "Cry Like a Baby," you're probably set. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Box Tops

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,050
  • UPC: 886976929725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

R&B: Soul Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)