Marty Grosz Remembering Louis

Remembering Louis
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $13.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.37 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $2.61 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  EJXW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 28, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Jump Records


  • 1.Mandy, Make Up Your Mind
  • 2.Down in Tonky Tonk Town
  • 3.Coal Cart Blues
  • 4.How Am I to Know?
  • 5.Everybody Loves My Baby
  • 6.There's a Cabin in the Pines
  • 7.Sweethearts on Parade
  • 8.Santa Claus Blues
  • 9.Once in a While
  • 10.The Song Is Ended
  • 11.No One Else But You
  • 12.In the Land of Beginning Again
  • 13.I'm a Little Blackbird
  • 14.Cake Walking Babies from Home
  • 15.Of All the Wrongs You've Done to Me
  • 16.Jubilee

Product Description:

/Ken Peplowski/Jon-Erik Kellso/Vince Giordano
Personnel: Marty Grosz (guitar); Ken Peplowski (clarinet); Jon-Erik Kellso (trumpet); Vince Giordano (bass saxophone, bass).
Recorded at St. Peter's Chelsea Episcopal Church, Manhattan, NY in October 2001.
Personnel: Marty Grosz (guitar); Ken Peplowski (clarinet); Jon-Erik Kellso (trumpet); Vince Giordano (bass saxophone).
Liner Note Author: Peter Deacon.
Recording information: St. Peter's Chelsea Episcopal Church, New York, NY (10/16/2001/10/17/2001).
Director: Marty Grosz.
Photographer: Duncan P. Schiedt.
Arrangers: Ken Peplowski; Jon-Erik Kellso; Marty Grosz.
Although 14 of the 16 songs on this set were recorded by Louis Armstrong (he never got around to "How Am I to Know," which he did perform in 1930, while "In the Land of Beginning Again" was the closing theme song of Fate Marable's band when Armstrong was a sideman), there is no attempt to re-create Satch's solos or try vocalizing like him. Instead, this project just served as a good excuse for acoustic guitarist Marty Grosz (who surprisingly does not take any vocals), clarinetist Ken Peplowski, trumpeter Jon-Erik Kellso, and Vince Giordano (doubling on string bass and bass sax) to play some superior tunes that they loved from Armstrong's early days. The instrumentation is reminiscent of the Sidney Bechet/Muggsy Spanier quartet of 1940 and the ensembles have the same light feel. The musicians are all major players in the classic jazz field, have individual voices, and are superior ensemble players. Such songs as "Mandy, Make up Your Mind," "Everybody Loves My Baby," "There's a Cabin in the Pines," "Cake Walking Babies From Home," and "Jubilee" are among the better songs, but in reality there is no weak point to this easily enjoyable swing/trad set. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Marty Grosz

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 119,766
  • UPC: 725543222527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)