Paul Chambers Mosaic Select: Paul Chambers (3-CD)

Mosaic Select: Paul Chambers (3-CD)
1 rating
Price: $57.58
List Price: $63.98
You Save: $6.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  9XE2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 3, 2004
  • Label: Mosaic Select

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dexterity
  • 2.Stablemates
  • 3.Easy to Love
  • 4.Visitation
  • 5.Trane's Blues (aka John Paul Jones)
  • 6.Eastbound
  • 7.Omicron
  • 8.Whims of Chambers
  • 9.Nita
  • 10.We Six
  • 11.Dear Ann
  • 12.Tale of the Fingers
  • 13.Just for the Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Trane's Strain (Improvisation)
  • 2.High Step
  • 3.Nixon, Dixon and Yates Blues (Improvisation)
  • 4.Minor Run-Down
  • 5.Hand of Love
  • 6.Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
  • 7.Four Strings
  • 8.What's New?
  • 9.Beauteous
  • 10.Four Strings [Alternate Take]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Yesterdays
  • 2.You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • 3.Chasin' the Bird
  • 4.Dear Old Stockholm
  • 5.Theme
  • 6.Confessin' (I'm Confessin' That I Love You)
  • 7.Chamber Mates
  • 8.I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  • 9.What Is This Thing Called Love?

Product Description:

Paul Chambers finally receives the Mosaic Select treatment and there's a surprise tossed in with his catalog for fans and connoisseurs: his material recorded for the Transition label. Also included on the Paul Chambers set are the albums Chambers' Music and Whims of Chambers from 1956 and Bass on Top and The Paul Chambers Quintet from 1957. Musicians on these dates ran the gamut from Elvin Jones to Donald Byrd, Clifford Jordan, Horace Silver, Kenny Burrell, Hank Jones, and Art Taylor -- an overwhelming number of fellow Detroiters. There are some other odds and ends as well, but most importantly, the Transition material will be of prime interest to John Coltrane fans. "Trane's Strain," an 11-minute legato orgy, was recorded and released on a Transition sampler called Jazz in Translation. It features Chambers, Coltrane, Pepper Adams, Curtis Fuller, Philly Joe Jones, and Roland Alexander. Two other selections, "High Step" and "Nixon, Dixon and Yates Blues," were recorded on the same day and issued on the Blue Note sampler High Step. Two other selections, "Chamber Mates" and "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm," on which Art Blakey is featured, were originally issued on samplers as well: Blue Berlin and Blakey's Drums Around the Corner. What it all adds up to is nearly four hours of some of the most elegant, heated playing in hard bop history. Away from their membership in the Miles Davis Quintet, Chambers, Trane, and Jones created a standard for all of Chambers' recordings for Blue Note: complex yet airy arrangements, impassioned and highly stylized playing, and plenty of improvisation. This is a set that goes beyond the boundaries of standard Blue Note fare (which is high-quality fare, indeed) and extends into the realm of pure musicology as articulated by jazz. Most of the players on these sessions had their musical vocabularies altered permanently by their participation. Many harmonic ideas were born in these dates in the mid-'50s, and most are still being articulated and built upon to this day. This box is essential. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Paul Chambers

Product Info

  • UPC: 724358393026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.70/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)