Lynyrd Skynyrd Skynyrd's First - The Complete Muscle Shoals Album

Skynyrd's First - The Complete Muscle Shoals Album
32% OFF
Rating 4.8
35 ratings
Sale Price: $9.88
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.74 Limited Time Only
You Save: $3.14 (32% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  YCXQ
on most orders of $50
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: MCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 3/01/04, p.54
Included in Mojo's The 67 Lost Albums You Must Own! - "[T]hey cut the definitive (though less famous) version of 'Freebird' during these sessions."


  • Buy for $1.291.Free Bird - (previously unreleased, original version)
  • Buy for $0.992.One More Time - (original version)
  • Buy for $1.293.Gimme Three Steps - (original version)
  • Buy for $1.294.Was I Right or Wrong
  • Buy for $0.995.Preacher's Daughter
  • Buy for $0.996.White Dove
  • Buy for $0.997.Down South Jukin'
  • Buy for $0.998.Wino - (previously unreleased, original version)
  • Buy for $1.299.Simple Man - (previously unreleased, original version)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Trust - (original version)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Comin' Home - (original version)
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Seasons
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lend a Helpin' Hand
  • Buy for $1.2914.Things Goin' On - (original version)
  • Buy for $1.2915.I Ain't the One - (previously unreleased, original version)
  • Buy for $0.9916.You Run Around - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Ain't Too Proud to Pray - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

This 1998 reissue contains six bonus tracks.
Lynyrd Skynyrd includes: Rickey Medlocke (vocals, drums); Ronnie Van Zant, Tim Smith (vocals); Allen Collins, Gary Rossington, Wayne Perkins, Jimmy Johnson (guitar); Billy Powell (piano); Ed King, Greg T. Walker, (bass); Bob Burns (drums).
Reissue producer: Ron O'Brien.
Engineers include: Jimmy R. Johnson, Gregg Hamm, Steve Melton.
Recorded at Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Sheffield, Alabama.
Includes liner notes by Ron O' Brien.
Personnel: Ronnie Van Zant (vocals); Jimmy Johnson , Gary Rossington, Allen Collins, Wayne Perkins (guitar); Ronnie Eades (saxophone); Billy Powell (piano); Randy McCormick (Mellotron); Rick Medlocke (drums, background vocals); Bob Burns (drums); Cassie Gaines, Leslie Hawkins, Jo Jo Billingsley, Leon Wilkeson, Tim Smith (background vocals).
Audio Remixer: Doug Schwartz.
Recording information: Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, Sheffield, AL (1971-1972).
Photographers: Bob Johnson; Tommy Wright III.
To sample Lynyrd Skynyrd's true roots, the 1998 collection SKYNYRD'S FIRST goes back even further than their official debut release, 1973's PRONOUNCED LEH-NERD SKIN-NERD. Comprised of 17 tracks, SKYNYRD'S FIRST showcases early demos and outtakes that the band recorded prior to signing with MCA Records--when they were at their young and hungriest. While some of the tracks have already appeared on past releases (such as 1978's SKYNYRD'S FIRST AND LAST and their 1991 self-titled box set), longtime fans won't want to pass up having such great early versions of "Free Bird," "Simple Man," and the country-tinged "Seasons" on a single disc.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 35 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Lynyrd Skynyrd

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 34,667
  • UPC: 008811188825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: