Laurie Allyn Paradise

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $13.48
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VSP 111

CD Details

  • Released: July 20, 2004
  • Label: Vsop Records


  • 1.All I Need Is You
  • 2.You Go to My Head
  • 3.Paradise
  • 4.Surrey With the Fringe on Top
  • 5.Easy Living
  • 6.You're So Bad for Me
  • 7.The More I See You
  • 8.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 9.So in Love
  • 10.That's What a Woman Is For
  • 11.Where Are You
  • 12.Take Me in Your Arms

Product Description:

Personnel: Laurie Allyn (vocals); Stella Castellucci (harp); Marvin Limonick, Joachim Chassman, Felix Slatkin, George Berres, Irma Neumann, Paul Shure (violin); Alexander Neiman, Alvin Dinkin (viola); Eleanor Slatkin (cello); Pete Candoli (trumpet); Red Mitchell (double bass); Al Viola (guitar); Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach, Ed Leddy, Lee Katzman (trumpet); Vincent DeRosa (French horn); George Roberts (trombone, bass trombone); Herbie Harper, Pete Carpenter (trombone); Marty Paich (piano, celesta); Mel Lewis (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Peter Jacobson.
Recording information: Hollywood, CA (10/02/1957-10/05/1957).
Photographer: Dave Pell.
Arranger: Marty Paich.
Here is a real obscurity. Laurie Allyn sang jazz in Chicago in the mid-'50s and made this one recording for the Mode label. Unfortunately a week later the label ceased operations, and although this set was listed in its catalogs, it was not released for the first time until 47 years later. Allyn, who would later go by the name of Didi Pierce, apparently never recorded another jazz date, and that is a pity. Her voice is small but quite expressive, cool but inwardly emotional. Her choice of notes is excellent and she draws listeners into the music. Accompanied by a string orchestra on eight selections and a brass section on four others, with all of the numbers arranged by Marty Paich, Allyn is in superior form on such songs as "You Go to My Head," "Easy Living," a slow version of "The More I See You," and "Where Are You." Trumpeter Don Fagerquist, guitarist Al Viola, and pianist Paich are major assets in the backup bands. This ballad-oriented set is well worth acquiring by fans of 1950s jazz-influenced vocalists; some of the singing (particularly on "I'll Never Smile Again") is quite haunting. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 118,624
  • UPC: 722937111122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item