The Kinks The Songs We Sang for Auntie: BBC Sessions 1964-1977 (Live) (2-CD)

The Songs We Sang for Auntie: BBC Sessions
16 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YCQX
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 6, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sanctuary Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/24/01, p.90
4 stars out of 5 - "...God bless the BBC....For initiates, this is an exellent primer; for supplicants who have endured the band's desultory live albums in recent years, it's an embarrassment of riches."
Mojo (Publisher) - 4/01, p.90
"...Like any successful collection, these sessions send you back to the original records and make you want more....the 1st CD represents the group at the height of their powers....If you enjoy [their] concept period, you'll enjoy the second disc..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Interview
  • 2.You Really Got Me
  • 3.Interview
  • 4.Cadillac
  • 5.All Day and All of the Night
  • 6.Tired of Waiting For You
  • 7.Ev'rybody's Gonna Be Happy
  • 8.See My Friends
  • 9.This Strange Effect
  • 10.Milk Cow Blues
  • 11.Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • 12.Till the End of the Day
  • 13.Where Have All the Good Times Gone
  • 14.Death of a Clown
  • 15.Love Me till the Sun Shines
  • 16.Harry Rag
  • 17.Good Luck Charm
  • 18.Waterloo Sunset
  • 19.Monica
  • 20.Days
  • 21.The Village Green Preservation Society

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mindless Child of Motherhood
  • 2.Holiday
  • 3.Demolition
  • 4.Victoria
  • 5.Here Comes Yet Another Day
  • 6.Money Talks
  • 7.Mirror of Love
  • 8.Celluloid Heroes
  • 9.Skin & Bone / Dry Bones
  • 10.Get Back in the Line
  • 11.Did You See His Name?
  • 12.When I Turn Off the Living Room Lights
  • 13.Skin & Bone
  • 14.Money Talks

Product Description:

The Kinks: Ray Davies (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica, piano, organ); Dave Davies (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); John Gosling (acoustic & electric pianos, organ); Pete Quaife (bass, background vocals); Mick Avory (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Alan Holmes (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Michael Rosen (trumpet); John Beecham (trombone, tuba); Nicky Hopkins (piano, organ, Mellotron); Claire Hamill, Maryann Price, Pam Travis (background vocals).
Producers include: Keith Bateson, Jimmy Grant, Paul Williams, Bob Conduct, Tony Wilson.
Compilation producer: Steve Hammonds.
Recorded at various BBC Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Russell Smith and Doug Hinman.
Digitally remastered by Ray Davies & Andy Pearce (January 2001, Masterpiece).
Is it possible that the early Kinks could be even rawer and more exciting in BBC halls than on their known Pye Records recordings? Sometimes yes, otherwise very nearly. A few of these -- notably a breathless rave-up of Bo Diddley's "Cadillac" -- are indeed even more spark-ridden than the LP versions. Most of the merely curious will delight in new looks at the punishing stomp of the original blockbuster 1964 hits "You Really Got Me" and "All Day and All the Night." Likewise, this is like hearing "Tired of Waiting," "Till the End of the Day," "Days," and a faster-paced "Love Me 'Til the Sun Shines" for the first time, the feeling is still so powerful in such fresh looks at seminal creations. And for the ardent fan, it's the procession of little differences and inspired takes that quietly push the tingle buttons -- especially as one gets deeper into disc one. You note an unexpected piano on "Waterloo Sunset" by Nicky Hopkins, on a louder version that's as unusual as it is different from the 1967 pinnacle hit. And how about that deeper guitar chime on the pioneering Eastern flavor of "See My Friends"? Those who bought the bootlegs always raved about the great, lost, unreleased pop gem "Strange Effect"; this is the only Kinks version, yet its been covered over and over. Disc two is greatly diminished if still often worthy. Don't miss the ripping "Mindless Child of Motherhood," typically pretty versions of "Celluloid Heroes" and "Holiday," and the great lost Kinks album, comic-touching "When I Turn off the Living Room Lights." But it's disc one that you need. The wonder is that half of the band's '60s sessions are sadly not extant, yet the first 19 tracks are indispensable. ~ Jack Rabid

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Kinks

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,901
  • UPC: 075597942477
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)