James Taylor Greatest Hits, Volume 2

Greatest Hits, Volume 2
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 85223
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/1/00, p.102
"...Taylor hasn't changed his easygoin' honey-cured style over the decades, but this collection of pst-1976 work shows his output hasn't slacked either..." - Rating: B+


  • 1.Secret O' Life
  • 2.Handy Man
  • 3.Your Smiling Face
  • 4.Up On The Roof
  • 5.Her Town Too
  • 6.That's Why I'm Here
  • 7.Only A Dream In Rio
  • 8.Everyday
  • 9.Song For You Far Away
  • 10.Never Die Young
  • 11.(I've Got To) Stop Thinkin' 'Bout That
  • 12.Copperline
  • 13.Shed A Little Light
  • 14.Another Day
  • 15.Little More Time With You
  • 16.Enough To Be On Your Way

Product Description:

Personnel includes: James Taylor (vocals, acoustic guitar); Arnold McCuller, Valerie Carter, David Lasley, Kate Markowitz, Rosemary Butler (vocals); Danny Kortchmar (acoustic & electric guitar), Waddy Wachtel, Dan Dugmore, Michael Landau (electric guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Mark O'Connor (violin); Bob Mintzer (tenor saxophone); Randy Brecker (trumpet); Dave Bargeron (trombone); Dr. Clarence McDonald, Billy Payne (keyboards); Don Grolnick (piano, organ, synthesizer); Leland Sklar, Tony Levin (bass); Russell Kunkel, Rick Maretta (drums, percussion); Carlos Vega, Steve Jordan (drums); Jim Maelen (percussion).
Producers include: Peter Asher, James Taylor, Frank Filipetti, Don Grolnick, Danny Kortchmar.
Engineers: Val Garay, Frank Filipetti, James Farber.
Recorded at The Sound Factory, Los Angeles, California; Record One, Los Angeles, California; Right Track Recording, New York, New York; Power Station, New York, New York; Skyline Studios, New York, New York.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Recording information: A&M Studios, LA; Air Studios, Montserrat; Chalker's Creek, Martha's Vineyard, MA; Power Station, New York, NY; Record One, LA; Right Track Recording, New York, NY; Skyline, New York, NY; Studio F, LA; The Sound Factory, LA; Westlake Audio, LA.
Photographer: Dan Borris.
The 24 years-in-the-making sequel to James Taylor's first best-of anthology, reassuringly VOLUME 2 sports the same minimalist graphic cover design. Not surprisingly, the music reflects a similar aesthetic; Taylor has always been a careful craftsman and something of a minimalist, favoring small, intimate-sounding acoustic backdrops to electric bombast.
It's a testament to his vision that the songs here are very much of a piece with the songs on VOLUME 1. Three covers--Buddy Holly's "Everyday," Carole King's "Up on the Roof," and Otis Blackwell's "Handy Man"--demonstrate that Taylor still has no peer as an interpreter of '50s and '60s pop-rock. Other highlights include his wonderfully catchy Motown pastiche "Your Smiling Face," the rueful, yet stirring "Never Die Young," and the concluding "Enough to Be on Your Way," featuring a guest appearance by none other than cellist Yo-Yo Ma.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for James Taylor

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,097
  • UPC: 886976881320
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Rock & Pop: Folk Rock Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)